It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Apparel Technology: Books
Using state-of-the art industrial equipment and processes, students will be prepared to enter the workforce with the knowledge and ability to make an immediate impact in the industry.
A cultural and historical philosophy of fashion in economic and social life from the 1830s to the present day. Ulrich Lehmann brings together methods and ideas from social sciences and material production to offer a new political reading of fashion in today's post-democracy. Accessing rare source material across a wide range of European languages and cultures, he offers insight into new working structures inthe manufacture of garments and textiles.
Cottons importance as a crop and as a textile fibre is still significant. However, its importance has been and will continue to be seriously challenged by the growth in consumption of man-made fibre, particularly polyester. This book is divided into three parts. The first part, covering seven chapters, describes the chemical and physical properties of cotton fibre. These chapters focus on the differences between cotton and polyester fibre properties, and highlight areas researchers will need to pursue to keep cotton competitive. Two lesser discussed properties receive attention: Cotton fibres wax layer and cotton celluloses glass transition temperature. The hydrophobic wax layer that protects cotton during mechanical processing and aids the dispersal of its seed by water, has been central in the development of the spinning technology used by cotton and polyester fibre alike. The wax provides lubrication between the fibre surface and the processing surfaces during opening, carding and spinning. The chapter on cotton celluloses glass transition temperature introduces the less appreciated concept that cottons cellulose can be plasticised at particular temperatures and moisture contents, wherein cottons mechanical properties, e.g. elongation to break, can be improved. The range of fibre property values and the variation found in cotton stand as markers for future researchers to improve by way of plant and crop management, breeding (including genetic modification), and chemical processing. Long standing objectives include longer, stronger and finer fibre, which all translate to better looking and performing yarn and fabric. However, properties that give cotton fabric improved resilience, drape and dyed-colour appearance also stand as objectives to improve cottons competitiveness. The second part of the book introduces uses of cotton that are less considered; cotton nonwovens, bandages impregnated with natural anti-microbial agents and cellulose aerogels are products with excellent potential, and deserve further research and development. Standard textile products are not discussed in this section. These are discussed in the third and final part of the book. The final four chapters focus on the current performance of cotton in different apparel and home furnishing markets, in the commodity marketplace, and in spinning and dyeing. These final chapters point to a challenging future for cotton if the industry and its researchers curtail their pursuit of better crop productivity, fibre quality, processing technology and product development.
Marketing and branding inform many of the strategic and creative decisions involved in fashion design and product development. Marketing is a vital component of the industry and an understanding of its importance and role is essential for those planning a career in fashion. Marketing Fashion, Second Edition is a practical guide to the fundamental principles of marketing and branding, from developing brand identity to creating a customer profile. The book explains key theoretical concepts and illustrates how they are applied within the global fashion and retail industry, from haute couture to the mass market. All tools in the modern marketer's kit are discussed, from attending fashion fairs to viral marketing and online strategies. Using examples and case studies drawn from a broad range of fashion, textile, and retail businesses, students are led through the marketing process from initial consumer and market research to the creation of exciting marketing and branding campaigns. The book is designed to appeal to students at degree or foundation level as well as those contemplating a career within the fashion industry.
Since Charles Fredrick Worth established his luxurious Maison de Couture in 1858, the interior has played a crucial role in the display of fashion. House of Fashion provides a full historical account of the interplay between fashion and the modern interior, demonstrating how they continue to function as a site for performing modern, gendered identities for designers and their clientele alike. In doing so, it traces how designers including Poiret, Vionnet, Schiaparelli and Dior used commercial spaces and domestic interiors to enhance their credentials as connoisseurs of taste and style. Taking us from the early years of haute couture to the luxury fashion of the present day, Berry explores how the salon, the atelier and the boutique have allowed fashion to move beyond the aesthetics of dress, to embrace the visual seduction of the theatrical, artistic, and the exotic. From the Art Deco allure of Coco Chanel's Maison to the luminous spaces of contemporary flagship stores, House of Fashion sets out fashion's links with key figures in architecture and design, including Louis S¿e, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Eileen Gray, and Jean-Michel Frank. Drawing on photographs, advertisements, paintings and illustrations, this interdisciplinary study examines how fashionable interiors have shaped our understanding of architecture, dress, and elegance.
Art and fashion have long gone hand in hand, but it was during the modernist period that fashion first gained equal value to - and took on the same aesthetic ideals as - painting, film, photography, dance, and literature. Combining high and low art forms, modernism turned fashion designers into artists and vice versa. Bringing together internationally renowned scholars across a range of disciplines, this vibrant volume explores the history and significance of the relationship between modernism and fashion and examines how the intimate connection between these fields remains evident today, with contemporary designers relating their work to art and artists problematizing fashion in their works. With chapters on a variety topics ranging from Russian constructionism and clothing to tango and fashion in the early 20th century, Fashion and Modernism is essential reading for students and scholars of fashion, dress history, and art history alike. Contributors: Patrizia Calefato, Caroline Evans, Ulrich Lehmann, Astrid Söderbergh Widding, Alessandra Vaccari, Olga Vainshtein, Sven-Olov Wallenstein
The middle ages
The sixteenth century
The seventh century
The perspective glass
The prospect glass
The eighteenth century
The early years
The quizzing glass
The prospect glass
The nineteenth century
The twentieth century
The early years
The 1970s into the new millennium
From the elegant bias-cut gown to the light and liberating day dress, this book looks at and celebrates the historic silhouettes, fabric cuts and contextual history of 1930s clothing. Equipped with instructions, patterns and enchanting photos, it explores the history of 1930s fashion, and explains how to make a range of versatile thirties-inspired garments. It takes ten examples of 1930s garments, ranging from a lingerie set to a heavy coat, to create a thirties-inspired capsule collection. The patterns are taken from original 1930s garments, with each piece being carefully measured and the patterns scaled down accordingly. Step-by-step instructions for making each garment are complemented by close-up photographs of historic details and decoration. A beautiful and practical book, it will inspire designers, dressmakers and lovers of vintage fashion who want to express themselves through timeless and elegant style. AUTHORS: Ciara Phipps is the curatorial manager at Southend Museums Service. She works extensively with the dress and textiles collection, and specialises in historic swimwear and exhibition curation. Claire Reed is the conservator at Southend Museums Service, working extensively across all collections. She previously worked as a theatrical costumier and seamstress, and also spent many years working as a self-employed wedding dressmaker. 443 colour photographs and 29 patterns
Learn the fascinating story of the flax to linen process in history, legend, song, crafts, lesson plans, and recipes. With 414 images, this comprehensive book dates back thousands of years, from how flax was cultivated in the Middle East and Europe, its beginnings in America, to its use in the twenty-first century. Guidelines for planting, harvesting, breaking, spinning, weaving, and other processes provided. If you're a collector, flax tools, spinning wheels, and flax-made antique fabrics and linen make great collectibles. Make a rope bed, a linseed oil lamp, and even bake buttermilk biscuits with flaxseed. Discover the many great uses of this plant and the role it played throughout the world. This is a great resource for history buffs, collectors, educators, and planters.
This text helps students understand how the components of textiles - fibre, yarn, fabric, dye, and finish - contribute to the performance of products for specific end uses. With a focus on the why behind the material, it encourages students to understand and predict textile properties and performance.
Everything you need to fold a school of 60 origami fish! Origami Fish and Other Sea Creatures Kit presents this collection of 20 delightfully fishy designs by some of the world's most famous origami artists including Robert Lang, John Montroll, Marc Kirschenbaum, Steven Palmer, Rob Snyder, Viviane Berty and many others. The book's diagrams and instructions accompanied with the step-by-step videos are detailed enough for even origami beginners to have the guidance needed to create a virtual aquarium full of beautiful paper fish. This origami kit includes everything you need to get started: A full-color 64-page origami book with step-by-step instructions 20 original origami projects 60 two-sided sheets of colorful patterned origami papers Step-by-Step online video instructions for each model Give as gifts to family and friends, or decorate your home or office with these 20 original designs, including: The versatile "Multiform Fish," which allows you to create a variety of fish based on one model by adjusting variables as you fold The 3-D "Bubblefish" and "Puffer Fish," which assume their rounded forms when you inflate their bodies in the final step The playful "Clownfish," with its distinctive stripes The action-model "Swimming Fish," which can swish from side to side when you shift its tail between your fingers The unusual "Manta Ray," with its realistically graceful form And many other beautiful fish!
From'alt'to'yrn,'knitting patterns have a unique language of abbreviations and knitting techniques. The Knitter's Dictionary is your comprehensive resource to understanding the language of knitting in a quick-reference guide that no knitting bag should be without. For beginner and skilled knitters alike, there's always something new to discover in your next hand knit project. The Knitter's Dictionary puts an expert knitting instructor in the palm of your hands to help you navigate any pattern. Within this knitting bag necessity you'll also find:Over 150 illustrations showing you everything from the difference between a toque and a beret to how-to information on increase and decrease stitches.Handy cross references quickly lead you to exactly the information you need whether you've come across a new abbreviation in a knitting pattern or you've forgotten the steps to a long-tail cast on.Extended information on more challenging topics like taking measurements, understanding gauge, and fiber care instructions make this more than a dictionary--it's important information no knitter should be without.Packed with bonus tips and tricks, learn the do's and don'ts of pattern knitting making patterns easier and more enjoyable to knit! The Knitter's Dictionary gives knitters the answers they need when and where they need them in a precise and helpful way. Give yourself or another knitter the gift of knowledge with this must-have resource.
Don't just fold and look at your origami work - wear it! Using papers in a dazzling array of colours and wonderful patterns, textures, and finishes, and with traditional folding skills and simple jewellery-making techniques, you'll learn to fashion pendants, pins, earrings and other exquisite accessories. Categorized by season and with a special section devoted to Japanese motifs, these imaginative projects will have you folding all year long.
Browse the Shelves
Call numbershelp you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.