Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture & Heavy Equipment: Books

This program will give you a thorough understanding of engines, hydraulics, braking, electrical, starting, charging, fuel systems and more.

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access

Book of the Month

December 2019: Heavy Equipment Operations, Level 1

Call Number: TA 725 H43 2012

This exceptionally produced trainee guide features a highly illustrated design, technical hints and tips from industry experts, review questions and a whole lot more! Key content includes: Orientation to the Trade, Heavy Equipment Safety, Identification of Heavy Equipment, Basic Operational Techniques, Utility Tractors, Introduction to Earth Moving, and Grades-Part One.     Instructor Supplements Instructors: Product supplements may be ordered directly through OASIS at http://oasis.pearson.com. For more information contact your Pearson NCCER/Contren Sales Specialist at http://nccer.pearsonconstructionbooks.com/store/sales.aspx.   ·    Annotated Instructor's Guide (AIG) Paperback (Includes access code for Instructor Resource Center) 978-0-13-292166-4 ·    TestGen Software and Test Questions - Available for download from   www.nccerirc.com . Access code comes in AIG and also available separately.  ·    Additional TestGen Software Access Code Cards 978-0-13-292207-4 ·    PowerPoint® Presentation Slides 978-0-13-292167-1   NCCER CONNECT Trainee Guide Paperback + Access Card Package: $90 978-0-13-303356-4 IG Paperback + Access Card Package: $165 978-0-13-298645-8 Access Card ONLY for Trainee Guide: $65 (does not include print book) 978-0-13-302107-3 Access Card ONLY for IG: $100 (does not include print book) 978-0-13-302146-2 ELECTRONIC Access Code ONLY for Trainee Guide: $65 (must be ordered electronically via OASIS; does not include print book) 978-0-13-302236-0 ELECTRONIC Access Code ONLY for IG: $100 (must be ordered electronically via OASIS; does not include print book) 978-0-13-302237-7  

November 2019: Mobile Equipment Hydraulics

Call Number: TJ 840 .W38 2011

Designed for the required course on hydraulics found in diesel technology and heavy equipment programs, MOBILE EQUIPMENT HYDRAULICS: A SYSTEMS AND TROUBLESHOOTING APPROACH, takes a practical approach to the understanding of fluid power / hydraulic systems. Instead of concentrating on the design issues of fluid power systems this book approaches hydraulics more like a technician would to approach a system that requires maintenance or troubleshooting. Nearly all aspiring diesel technicians receive training in this subject, which is one of seven areas of study recognized by ASE Education Foundation in diesel technology. Coverage includes a study of terminology, industrial standards, symbols and basic circuitry design as related to fluid power. Examples are drawn from actual equipment that is relevant to the program of study, whether it be heavy truck, earth-moving, or agricultural equipment.

October 2019: Combustion and Emissions in IC Engines

Call Number: TJ 756 R69 2019

This book is designed as a textbook for a one-semester course in combustion and emissions in IC engines (reciprocating engines) at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Currently, I am teaching this course at Lakehead University, which I developed from my area of research-expertise. I planned the textbook in such a way that all necessary material required by those taking a course on combustion and emissions in IC engines are found within. The book's twelve chapters are designed in such a way that the instructor could complete it within a 12 to 13-week semester. The chapters are arranged from basic properties of ideal gases, IC engine cycles, fuels and combustion of fuels, combustion in SI, CI and dual-fuel engines, testing of IC engines, hydrogen use in IC engines, and finally emissions from IC engines and air pollution. My three decades of university teaching experience are used to write this book as simple as possible for all students. Too many exercise problems are avoided, and an appropriate number of problem-solving exercises from different topics are included. Whenever possible, my own, along with other relevant research works are presented in a consistent way relevant to the topic. The flow of the topics in different chapters appears in logical order, and the explanation of terminology is made simple. Systems of units and unit conversion are written exclusively for mechanical engineering students in a better, more rational and more useful fashion than any other book in academia.I enjoyed writing this book. If the students for whom it is primarily written find it useful, my efforts will be rewarded. Year after year, I heard frustration from my students about the lack of a suitable textbook. Through my work, I hope to have provided a solution to their frustration. Any suggestions for the improvement of this work will be gratefully welcomed.

September 2019: Fundamentals of Mobile Heavy Equipment

Call Number: eBook

Fundamentals of Mobile Heavy Equipment provides students with a thorough introduction to the diagnosis, repair, and maintenance of off-road mobile heavy equipment. With comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the latest technology in the field, it addresses the equipment used in construction, agricultural, forestry, and mining industries. The chapters cover all aspects of heavy equipment systems, including: * Hydraulics, spanning 14 chapters * Braking and suspension systems * Track drive undercarriage and wheeled machines * Hydraulic attachments * Electrical and steering systems * Transmission and power transfer systems * Electric Drives * Autonomous and semi-autonomous control systems * Telematics, on-board networks and remote machine control * Alternative braking * Foundational information, shop practices and safety concerns The textbook features helpful pedagogical tools to enhance student comprehension and critical thinking, including review sections, real-world applications, illustrations, step-by-step explanations, and visual summaries. Written in concise and accessible language by an author team extensive experience in the field, it equips students at all levels with the knowledge and skills they need for a successful career in heavy equipment repair and service.

August 2019: Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication

Call Number: eBook

Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication is the number-one resource for sheet metal workers old and new. Join veteran metalworker Ed Barr as he walks you through the ins and outs of planning a sheet metal project, acquiring the necessary tools and resources, doing the work, and adding the perfect finishing touches for a seamless final product. From his workshop at McPherson College-home of the only accredited four-year degree in automotive restoration technology-Barr not only demonstrates how the latest tools and products work, but also explains why sheet metal reacts the way it does to a wide variety of processes. He includes clear directions for shaping metal using hand tools, the English Wheel, the pneumatic planishing hammer, and other machines, and discusses a variety of ways to cut and join metal through welding, soldering, brazing, and riveting. Dent repair and automotive patch panel fabrication are covered in detail. Readers are also given tips on copying shapes and building foam, wire, and wood station bucks to use as guides during shaping. This is truly the most detailed enthusiast-focused sheet metal how-to book on the market. Whether you're a metal hobbyist or experienced professional, you're sure to find something new in Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication.

July 2019: ASE Test Preparation - T2 Diesel Engines

Call Number: TL 229 D5 A84 2012

The fifth edition of DELMAR'S AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE EXCELLENCE (ASE) TEST PREPARATION MANUAL for the Medium/Heavy Duty Truck T3 Drive Train exam now contains even more content so you can pass your ASE exam the first time. This manual will ensure that you understand the Diesel Engines task list and are fully prepared and confident to take your exam.

June 2019: Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems

Call Number: TL 230.2 D84 F86 2016

This is on reserve, and is only a 3 hour loan. Please see front desk. Based on the 2014 National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) Medium/Heavy Truck Tasks Lists and ASE Certification Test Series for truck and bus specialists, Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems is designed to address these and other international training standards. The text offers comprehensive coverage of every NATEF task with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking. Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems describes safe and effective diagnostic, repair, and maintenance procedures for today's medium and heavy vehicle chassis systems, including the most current, relevant, and practical coverage of: * Automated transmissions * Braking system technology used in vehicle stability, collision avoidance, and new stopping distance standards * Hybrid drive powertrains * Advanced battery technologies * On board vehicle networks and integrated chassis electrical control system * Automatic transmission drive shafts and drive axles * Charging, starting, vehicle instrumentation and chassis electrical systems * On-board diagnostic systems, electronic signal processing, and sensor operation * Steering, suspension, frames, hitching, and air conditioning systems * Environmental and fuel efficiency technologies Additional features include: * Up-to-date NATEF coverage * Support of ASE certification test preparation for medium-heavy truck and bus test series * A clear, accessible writing style * Reinforcement of concepts learned * Application to real-world practice * A wealth of photographs, illustrations, and step-by-step explanations with visual summaries

May 2019: Automotive Electrical and Engine Performance

Call Number: TL 272.5 H35 2016

This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series.   Prepare tomorrow's automotive professionals for success. Automotive Electrical and Engine Performance covers content and topics specified for both Electrical/Electronic System (A6) and Engine Performance (A8) by ASE/NATEF, as well as the practical skills that students must master to be successful in the industry. Tomorrow's automotive professionals get a firm background in the principles and practices of diagnosing and troubleshooting automotive electrical, electronic, and computer systems in a clear, concise format at a level of detail that far exceeds most other texts in the area. Formatted to appeal to today's technical trade students, Halderman's text uses helpful tips and visuals to bring concepts to life and guide students through the procedures they'll use on the job.   To keep your course current, all of the content has been updated to correlate to the latest NATEF tasks and ASE areas; many new full-color line drawings and photos have been added; a new chapter covers gasoline direct injection (GDI) systems; and new, updated, or expanded information has been included on OSHA hazardous chemical labeling requirements; electrical circuits; GM low-speed GMLAN; fuel pump diagnosis; fuel injection diagnosis; OBDII diagnosis; permanent (Mode $0A) diagnostic trouble codes; and electric vehicle (EV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) charging. Four new appendixes provide a sample Electrical/Electronic systems ASE-type certification test with answers; a sample A8 Engine Performance ASE-type certification test with answers; an NATEF correlation chart showing all MLR, AST, and MAST tasks for electrical/electronic systems (A6) in one chart; and an NATEF correlation chart showing all MLR, AST, and MAST tasks for engine performance (A8) in one chart.

April 2019: Drills : science and technology of advanced operations

Call Number: TJ 1260 A87 2014

Summary: In a presentation that balances theory and practice, Drills: Science and Technology of Advanced Operations details the basic concepts, terminology, and essentials of drilling. The book addresses important issues in drilling operations, and provides help with the design of such operations. It debunks many old notions and beliefs while introducing scientifically and technically sound concepts with detailed explanations. The book presents a nine-step drilling tool failure analysis methodology that includes part autopsy and tool reconstruction procedure. A special feature of the book is the presentation of special mechanisms of carbide (e.g. cobalt leaching) and polycrystalline (PCD) tool wear and failure presented and correlated with the tool design, manufacturing, and implementation practice. The author also introduces the system approach to the design of the drilling system formulating the coherency law. Using this law as the guideline, he shows how to formulate the requirement to the components of such a system, pointing out that the drilling tool is the key component to be improved. Teaching how to achieve this improvement, the book provides the comprehensive scientific and engineering foundations for drilling tool design, manufacturing, and applications of high-performance tools. It includes detailed explanations of the design features, tool manufacturing and implementation practices, metrology of drilling and drilling tools, and the tool failure analysis. It gives you the information needed for proper manufacturing and selection of a tool material for any given application.

March 2019: Modern diesel technology: heavy equipment systems

Call Number: TJ 840 H89 2019

Includes: Safety, Hoisting and rigging systems, Introduction to hydraulics, Hydraulic system components, Hydraulic symbols and schematics, Hydraulic system maintenance and diagnostics, Hydraulic brakes, Spring-applied, hydraulically released brakes, Air-over-hydraulic brake systems, Introduction to powertrains, Powershift transmissions, Hydrostatic drive systems and hydraulic retarder systems, Driveline systems, Heavy-duty axles, Final drives, Steering systems, Tracks, tires, and rim and ground-engaging equipment, Suspension systems, Machine and equipment electronics, and AC electric drive and battery-powered machines.

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to Agriculture and Heavy Duty Mechanics.

TJ 785-799 Mechanical Engineering 
TL 152-262 Motor Vehicle

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.