Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Animal Health Technology: Books

You will be trained to provide hands-on care to a variety of animals both large and small.

Book of the Month

October 2020: Pathology of Small Mammal Pets

Pathology of Small Mammal Pets presents a ready reference for veterinarians, veterinary pathologists, and technicians who work with small mammal companion animals. Provides up-to-date, practical information on common disease conditions in small mammal companion animals Offers chapters logically organized by species, with comprehensive information on diagnosing diseases in each species Takes a practical, system-based approach to individual disease conditions Covers clinical signs, laboratory diagnostics, gross pathology, histopathology, and differential diagnoses in detail Includes relevant information for conventional breeding operations and breeding facilities, with strategies for disease management in herds and colonies  Features information on normal anatomy in included species to assist in recognizing pathology  

September 2020: Animal Personality: The Science Behind Individual Variation

Call Number: eBook

From 'scaredy cats' to 'moody cows,' we often give animals personality when we talk about them, but does this have any basis in scientific fact? Only recently has science confirmed that animals have distinct individual personalities, shown through behavioural research. Animal Personality introduces the fundamentals of personality science and research, describing the history of behavioural testing, and then drills into scientific measurement, recording, and statistical analysis of individual personalities in animals. The author shows how the implications of animals having personalities affects how we treat and care for pets, farm animals, and wildlife. Interesting questions are posed, such as what is the evolutionary reason for traits like fearfulness, aggression and sociability? And it questions long held beliefs about animal traits such as dominance theory.  Animal Personality provides a fascinating and informed insight into the science of personality and its application to non-human animals. Ethologists and animal owners will find this an illuminating and thought-provoking resource. [Subject: Veterinary Studies, Ethology, Animal Welfare]

August 2020: Veterinary Instruments and Equipment

Call Number: SF 913 S66 2011

Use this pocket guide to memorize and identify instruments at a glance! Written by well-known vet tech expert Teresa F. Sonsthagen, BS, LVT, Veterinary Instruments and Equipment, 2nd Edition shows hundreds of detailed, full-color photographs of instruments and describes how and when each is used. A flashcard-style design makes it easier to flip through the pages, so you'll quickly become familiar with all commonly used instruments. An Evolve website includes interactive exercises that let you practice creating setups for surgical procedures, and ask you to identify and compare veterinary instruments. With the information in this book and on Evolve, you'll become a valuable member of the clinical team, care for instruments so they last longer, and prevent injuries from improper use. It's great for exam review, and with its compact size and spiral binding, a great reference to use on the job! Comprehensive coverage addresses restraint, medical, and diagnostic instruments in the first section and surgical instruments in the second. 780 high-quality color photographs help you to quickly recognize and identify instruments. A flip-book, flash-card format makes it easier to memorize instruments and to quiz yourself or others. Instruments and equipment are shown for common procedures for small and large animals including bovine, equine, sheep, pigs, and goats, and including procedures such as dehorning, hoof care, castration, and teat and obstetrical procedures. Two pages are allotted to each instrument, with the top page including a photo and the bottom page including the instrument's name, functions, characteristics, a practice note, and sterilization note -- it's easy to quiz yourself by folding the book to show only the photo page, then identifying the instrument name and functions. A handy pocket size makes it easy to carry and use at any time. Close-up photographs of instrument tips help you identify the subtle differences between instruments. A companion Evolve website includes all of the photos from the book to help you identify instruments, and allows you to zoom in to see details including the different tips. Interactive exercises on the Evolve site include instrument set-up exercises, comparison exercises, and identification quizzes.

July 2020: Animal Ethics in Animal Research

Call Number: HV 4708 R63 2017

The use of animals in research has always been surrounded by ethical controversy. This book provides an overview of the central ethical issues focusing on the interconnectedness of science, law and ethics. It aims to make theoretical ethical reasoning understandable to non-ethicists and provide tools to improve ethical decision making on animal research. It focuses on good scientific practice, the 3Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement), ethical theories applied to specific cases and an overview of regulatory issues. The book is co-authored by experts in animal research, animal welfare, social sciences, law and ethics, and provides both animal researchers and members of animal ethics committees with knowledge that can facilitate their work and communication with stakeholders and the public. The book is written to provide knowledge, not to argue a certain position, and is intended to be used in training that aims to fulfil EU Directive 2010/63/EU.

June 2020: Large Animal Internal Medicine

Call Number: SF 745L37 2015

Large Animal Internal Medicine, 5th Edition features a problem-based approach to the diagnosis and management of disease in horses, cattle, sheep, and goats. It offers discussions of over 150 clinical signs and manifestations, as well as comprehensive coverage of laboratory and diagnostic testing. Thoroughly revised and updated content includes new vaccines and vaccination protocols; the most current laboratories for DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers. It's everything you need to stay up to date with the latest information on preventing and treating disease in large animals. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you observe and what laboratory tests reveal. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. Color plates accompanying Diseases of the Eye and Diseases of the Alimentary Tract chapters illustrate the clinical appearance of ophthalmologic conditions and endoscopic views of equine alimentary tract disorders. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. An extensive list of useful references on a companion website, many linked to their original source on PubMed, enables you to continue research on specific topics of interest. Thorough and extensive index makes it easy to quickly locate key information. NEW! Extensively updated content from expert authors clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on pain, the nervous system, toxicology, BVD, malignant catarrhal fever, bluetongue, and strong ions. NEW! Vaccines and vaccination protocols keep you up-to-date with the information you need to prevent newly emerging diseases in large animals. NEW! Expanded coverage of the veterinarian's role in animal welfare; equine abdominal ultrasound; DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers supplies you with the most current large animal internal medicine information. NEW! Current information on foreign animal diseases dangerous to large animals in the US, including coverage of rinderpest, keeps you aware of diseases that can be transmitted from other countries.

May 2020: Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats

Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats, Third Edition provides a comprehensive exploration of current knowledge of breed predispositions based on rigorous examination of primary research.  Incorporates the latest research, new testing methods, and newly-discovered predispositions and diseases Provides expanded information on genetics, epidemiology, and longevity Includes key characteristics of diseases, including pathogenesis, genetics, risks, and common presentations Indexes dogs and cats by breed, with listings of common inherited and predisposed disorders organized by body system Includes absolute and relative frequency/occurrence data for conditions, along with references to further information  

April 2020: Emerging and Re-Emerging Infectious Diseases of Livestock

Call Number: eBook

This book provides comprehensive knowledge on diseases in livestock that are caused by viruses, parasites and bacteria. Emerging and re-emerging pathogens are presented in detail for various animal groups and in-depth insights into pathogenesis and epidemiology will be provided for each of them. In addition, state-of-the-art treatment possibilities, control measures as well as vaccination strategies are discussed. The recent years have witnessed a sharp increase in the number of emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases of livestock and many of these, including Influenza, Corona and Hanta are of public health importance. The reasons for this development are manifold:changes in the climate, life cycle of vectors and increased global travel. Also, due to extensive deforestation, livestock are  increasingly coming in direct contact with wild animals that are reservoirs of many emerging pathogens. Recent progress in diagnosis and management of emerging infectious diseases are also topic of this book.

March 2020: Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, Volume 8

Call Number: SF 996 Z66 2015

Logically organized by taxonomic groups, this up-to-date text covers the diagnosis and treatment of all zoo animal species and free-ranging wildlife, including amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals, and fish, unlikely to be seen by private practice veterinarians. Featuring full-color images, the consistent, user-friendly format supplies information on each animal's biology, unique anatomy, special physiology, reproduction, restraint and handling, housing requirements, nutrition and feeding, surgery and anesthesia, diagnostics, therapeutics, and diseases. Global authorship includes multinational contributors who offer expert information on different species from around the world. "This is a welcome update to an invaluable reference series; a must-have for any veterinary professional working largely in the zoo or wildlife field, and also recommended as a reference text for the library of any practice seeing unusual species on a regular basis, even if they already have an earlier volume." Reviewed by: Charlotte Day on behalf of  The Veterinary Record, Oct 14 Global authorship includes internationally recognized authors who have contributed new chapters focusing on the latest research and clinical management of captive and free-ranging wild animals from around the world. Zoological Information Management System chapter offers the latest update on this brand new system that contains a worldwide wealth of information. General taxonomy-based format provides a comprehensive text for sharing information in zoo and wildlife medicine. Concise tables provide quick reference to key points in the references. NEW! All new authors have completely revised the content to provide fresh perspectives from leading experts in the field on the latest advances in zoo and wild animal medicine. NEW! Color images vividly depict external clinical signs for more accurate recognition and diagnosis.

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

QH Biology
QL Zoology
SF Animal Culture
SF 277 - 360.4 Horses
SF 411 - 458 Pets (dogs, cats, rabbits, hares, fishes, ...)
SF 600 - 1100 Veterinary Medicine

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access