Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Equine Reproduction Technician: Books

Anatomy and physiology of the mare and stallion and early pregnancy, managing horses to maximize fertility, breeding management including manipulation of the estrus cycle, managing infertility, and managing the periparturient mare and the neonatal foal.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Golden Horse

Call Number:  SF 293 .A37 B33 2014

Hailing from Central Asia, the Akhal Teke is a horse breed known for its speed, intelligence and shimmering metallic coat. Prized for its athleticism and endurance, the Akhal Teke was the mount of warriors, from Alexander the Great to Ghengis Khan. Legend describes how a young nomad captured a magical stallion the colour of liquid fire, which he rode to the stars and back to earth. A direct descendant of the super horse of the ancient world, the Akhal Teke proclaims its noble lineage with its golden sheen and regal gait. Featuring more than 150 images of this elegant animal, Golden Horse reveals the beauty of the little-known Akhal Teke through the lens of Artur Baboev, a Russian photographer whose love for the breed sent him on a quest across the globe. Accompanied by a comprehensive text on the history and qualities of the "golden horse," this is a must-have for all horse lovers, owners, breeders and riders.

March 2020: Sire Lines

Call Number: SF 293 T5 H44 2006

An Oxford graduate and a lawyer by trade, Abram S. Hewitt held a deep fascination for equine pedigrees and genetics and wrote a series of articles examining the most influential early to mid-20th-century American stallions. These articles became Sire Lines. Eclipse Press is proud once again to offer this classic work to Thoroughbred racing enthusiasts everywhere.

February 2020: Foal to Five Years

Call Number: SF 285.3 H94 1992

Covering aspects of raising and training a horse from newborn foal to a five-year-old starting its specialist training, Ann Hyland demonstrates how to avoid even the most dangerous pitfalls in an expensive and time-consuming process.

January 2020: Equine Genomics

Call Number: SF 291 E645 2013

Analysis of the equine genome began just over a decade ago,culminating in the recent complete sequencing of the horsegenome. The availability of the equine whole genome sequencerepresents the successful completion of an important era of equinegenome analysis, and the beginning of a new era where thesequence information will catalyze the development of new tools andresources that will permit study of a range of traits that areeconomically important and are significant to equine health andwelfare. Equine Genomics provides a timely comprehensive overview ofequine genomic research. Chapters detail key accomplishments andthe current state of research, as well as looking forward topossible applications of genomic technologies to horse breeding,health, and welfare. Equine Genomics delivers a globaloverview of the topic and is seamlessly edited by a leading equinegenomics researcher. Equine Genomics is an indispensible source ofinformation for anyone with an interest in this increasinglyimportant field of study, including equine genomic researchers,clinicians, animal science professionals and equine fieldveterinarians.

December 2019: Equine Color Genetics

Call Number: SF 279 S665 2017

Equine Color Genetics, Fourth Edition presents a detailed examination of the color variation in horses and donkeys and the genetic mechanisms that produce color variations. Thoroughly covers the basic colors in horses, including bay, chestnut, black, and brown Details the genetic basis of the colors built from the basic coat color, including dilutions and white patterning Provides an explanation of genetic mechanisms that determine coat color Presents a thorough revision and update, including new advances in molecular genetics, biochemistry, molecular mechanisms, genetic loci, coat colors before domestication, and more Offers a new introduction describing the principles of genetics and genomics research to help outline how knowledge is discovered and to assist the reader in understanding concepts covered in the book  

November 2019: Horse Speak: An Equine-Human Translation Guide : Conversations with Horses in Their Language

Call Number: eBook

Horse Speak is not a training method or technique—it is a practical system for “listening” and “talking” to horses in their language, instead of expecting them to comprehend ours. Horse Speak can be used by anyone who works with horses, whether riding instructor, colt starter, recreational rider, or avid competitor. It promises improved understanding of what a horse is telling you, and provides simple replies you can use to tell him that you “hear” him, you “get it,” and you have ideas you want to share with him, too.The result? Time with your horse will be full of what horse trainer and equine-assisted learning instructor Sharon Wilsie of Wilsie Way Horsemanship calls Conversations, and soon the all-too-common misunderstandings that occur between horse and human will evolve into civil discussions with positive and progressive results! Learn Horse Speak in 12 easy steps; understand equine communication via breath and body language; and discover the Four Gs of Horse Speak: Greeting, Going Somewhere, Grooming, and Gone. Practice regulating your intensity, and sample dozens of ready-made Conversations with your horse, as step-by-step templates and instructional color photographs walk you through the eye-opening process of communicating on a whole new level.

October 2019: Wild Horse Country

Call Number: SF 293 .M9 P45 2017

The wild horse is so ingrained in the American imagination that even those who have never seen one know what it stands for: fierce independence, unbridled freedom, the bedrock ideals of the nation. From car ads to high school mascots, the wild horse--popularly known as the mustang--is the enduring icon of America. But in modern times it has become entangled in controversy and bureaucracy, and now its future is in question. In Wild Horse Country, New York Times reporter David Philipps traces the rich history of wild horses in America and investigates the shocking dilemma they face in our own time.Here is the grand story of the horse: from its prehistoric debut in North America to its reintroduction by Spanish conquistadors and its spread through the epic battles between native tribes and settlers during the days of the Wild West.Philipps explores how wild horses became so central to America's sense of itself, and he delves into the hold that wild horses have had on the American imagination from the early explorers to the best-selling novels of Zane Grey to Hollywood Westerns.Traveling through remote parts of the American West, Philipps also reveals the wild horse's current crisis, with tens of thousands of horses being held in captivity by the federal government, and free horses caught between the clashing ideals of ranchers, animal rights activists, scientists, and government officials.Wild Horse Country is a powerful blend of history and contemporary reporting that vividly reveals the majesty and plight of an American icon, while pointing a way forward that will preserve this icon for future generations.

September 2019: Current Therapy in Equine Reproduction

Call Number: SF 291 S26 2007

Offering the most current insights on horse breeding, this book covers the entire reproductive system, normal and abnormal mare physiology, and a wide range of reproductive problems commonly seen in both the mare and stallion. Coverage includes advanced reproductive techniques, with numerous breeding strategies to help you achieve optimal fertility rates. Features the most current information available on equine reproduction, including the latest therapies and treatments for breeding dysfunction, as well as advances in reproductive techniques Focuses on therapy and treatment to provide practitioners with quick access to key information Features the shared experience and valuable advice of world-renowned experts who have first-hand knowledge of which treatments and therapies are most effective

August 2019: The Rider's Balance

Call Number: eBook

How to best communicate with the horse has long been pondered, studied, and deciphered. From a handler's body language on the ground to the rider's use of "aids" (seat, legs, reins) when in the saddle, the ways we convey our wishes to the horse are the essential foundation of the partnership we seek with him. Although the basic aids are taught at the most elementary levels of equitation, renowned classical dressage trainer Sylvia Loch feels that most riders never fully realize how their weight when mounted impacts the horse in hundreds of nuanced ways--both good and bad. Developing an understanding of "weight aids" ensures that riders cultivate better balance and "feel," ultimately riding with more empathy and a finer connection. Here, Loch provides an image-driven visual guide that shows how each tiny shift of the rider's weight affects the horse's balance. With the help of dozens of illustrations and fabulous color photographs, she demonstrates the minute changes in rider position that determine a horse's comprehension of instruction as well as his physical ability to perform. With this book, novice riders will develop a much greater awareness of their own bodies and abilities, as well as those of the horse, from Day One, while more experienced riders will discover new avenues that lead to successful riding performance and fulfilling relationships with their horses.

July 2019: Equine Infectious Diseases

Call Number: SF 951 E55 2014

Ideal for both practitioners and students, this comprehensive resource covers the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of infectious disease in horses. Organized by infectious agent - virus, bacterial and rickettsial, protazoal, and fungal - it includes complete coverage of the individual diseases caused by each type of agent. A section on clinical problems examines conditions such as ocular infections, CNS infections, and skin infections. It also addresses the importance of preventing and controlling infectious disease outbreaks with coverage of epidemiology, biosecurity, antimicrobial therapy, and recognizing foreign equine diseases. Public health considerations presented in nearly every chapter discuss zoonotic disease potential and precautions, as well as other public health concerns. Appendix of infectious disease rule-outs for medical problems shows which symptoms may indicate specific infectious diseases with cross-references to the chapters in which they are discussed. Antimicrobial drug formulary appendix provides information on adjusting dosages on the basis of clinical and toxicologic data. Appendix for vaccination guidelines for horses in North America helps horse traders understand the necessary steps to avoid hefty fines and even license suspensions for non-compliance. The most up-to-date immunization recommendations for horses in North America, organized by foals/weanlings, yearlings, performance horses, pleasure horses, and broodmares. Easy access to references on PubMed links you to the original abstracts, with content updates to keep you aware of new infectious diseases and their impact on people and animals, as well as stunning downloadable images. Full-color photos and illustrations provide clear, accurate representations of clinical appearances of infectious diseases. NEW! The most up-to-date coverage of equine piroplasmosis reflects what experts have learned as more outbreaks of this tick-borne disease have occurred in the US. NEW! Content on EHV-1 keeps you current on the diagnosis and treatment of this potentially serious disease in horses. NEW! Information on how global climate changes are creating more diseases in horses keeps you alert to the possibilities of new and emerging diseases worldwide. NEW! Expanded coverage of biosecurity on farms and in veterinary practices helps you develop an effective biosecurity program and emphasizes how to isolate or eliminate the source of infectious agents. NEW! Additional clinical algorithms offer detailed prevention strategies in addition to diagnostic and therapeutic guidelines. NEW! New appendix of product and diagnostic test kit manufacturers on the companion website, gives you access to the most current products and advances available in equine medicine.

June 2019: Horses

Call Number: eBook

There are several questions requiring attention for rearing horses. By providing appropriate care during early ages, important injuries such as lameness or musculoskeletal damage can be avoided, which becomes of capital importance especially among competition horses. In recent years, there has been an increasing body of evidence that the early rearing environment, in particular access to exercise, can have a positive effect on stimulating the musculoskeletal system and priming the tissue for the future demands it will face in the competition arena. Due to different reasons, such as their participation in competitions or exhibition, sales or pleasure, horses are transported from one location to another. Transportation could be a physical and psychological stressor for horses, contributing to the development of some diseases, thus the effects of transportation on performance and welfare should be appropriately taken into account.

May 2019: Animal Breeding, Welfare and Society

Call Number: eBook

The determination of when, how, how often and with whom an animal breeds is moving rapidly away from evolutionary pressures and towards human purposes: these include the breeding of around 50 billion mammals and birds for food production annually, the breeding of pedigree dogs and cats, racing dogs and horses, specialised laboratory animal strains and the use of reproductive science to conserve endangered species or breeds and to limit unwanted populations of pests and non-native species. But the ethics and sustainability of this takeover of animals' reproductive lives have been insufficiently examined by either professionals or the public. This book discusses the methods, the motivations and the consequences of human intervention in animal breeding in terms of animal health, behaviour and well-being. It explores where we are now and the choices ahead, and looks to a future where we have more respect for animals as sentient beings and where we could loosen the reins of reproductive control.

Browse the Collection

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

SF

Animal culture

SF 05-109

Breeding and Breeds

SF 277-363

Equine

SF 290-293

Equine Breeding/ Reproduction

SF 765

Equine Genetics

SF 951-959

Equine Diseases

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access