Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Farrier Science: Books

As one of the world’s oldest professions, farrier holds a certain nostalgia, however today’s students are trained to use the newest techniques and products that are designed to serve a rapidly growing and changing equine industry.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Confessions of a Horseshoer

Call Number: eBook

Confessions of a Horseshoer offers a close and personal look at the mind-set of a professional horseshoer (farrier) who also happens to be a college professor. The book, an ironic and playful view of the many unusual animals (and people) Ron Tatum has encountered over thirty-seven years, is nicely balanced between straightforward presentation, self-effacing humor, and lightly seasoned wisdom. It captures the day-to-day life of a somewhat cantankerous old guy, who has attitude and strong opinions. Throughout the book, Tatum ponders the causes that led him into the apparently opposing worlds of horseshoeing, with its mud, pain, and danger, and the bookish life of a college professor. He tells the reader that it is his hope that writing the book will help him understand this apparent paradox between the physical and the mental. Tatum provides a detailed description of the horseshoeing process, its history, and why horses need shoes in the first place. The reader will learn about the dangers of shoeing horses in “Injuries I Have Known,” in which Tatum describes one particular self-inflicted injury that he claims no other horseshoer has ever, or will ever, experience. “Eight Week Syndrome” demonstrates the close, often therapeutic, relationship between the horseshoer and his or her customers. Tatum relates the story of an old Wyoming cowboy who could talk with horses, and consistently cure their injuries, lameness, and other physical problems after the veterinarians had given up. The humor in the chapters on chickens and rabbits will entertain any reader, as well as the sections on various dogs, ducks, llamas, goats, flies, and a sexually disoriented pig. Readers of western life and lovers of horses will find Confessions of a Horseshoer an informative, quirky, and delightful work full of humor, attitude, and off-beat insight.

March 2020: The No-Nonsense Guide to Archives and Recordkeeping

Call Number: eBook

Ideal for professionals involved in the management of archives and records, especially if they are just starting out or without formal training, The No-Nonsense Guide to Archives and Recordkeeping covers all aspects of the practice. Based on the internationally renowned training days run by author Margaret Crockett and her business partner, the guide follows records' journey from creation, through the application of classification and access techniques, evaluation for business, legal and historical value and finally to destruction or preservation and access in the archive. It utilizes checklists, practical exercises, sample documentation, case studies and helpful diagrams to ensure a very accessible and pragmatic approach, allowing anyone to get to grips with the basics quickly. Divided into four main work areas, the book covers: current records, including creation, filing, classification and security; records management, including aims, risks, planning, preparation and delivery; archives management, including collecting policies, intellectual property rights, appraisal, digitization and outreach; and archival preservation, including policy, disaster prevention and repositories. This one-stop guide will be essential for a wide readership, including archives and records assistants, librarians, information managers and IT professionals responsible for archives and records, and managers of archives staff.

February 2020: The Art and Craft of the Blacksmith

Call Number: eBook

Get to know the ultimate skill for using your own two hands!

January 2020: Equine Podiatry

Call Number: SF 907 F56 2007

This comprehensive text not only covers basic principles of horseshoeing, but also focuses on medical and surgical foot care management. Starting with the anatomy and physiology of the equine foot, this one-of-a-kind book then evaluates the foot, its pathological conditions (including structural, developmental, and traumatic conditions in addition to laminitis), balancing and shoeing the healthy and diseased equine hoof, and ends with a chapter on new directions in equine podiatry, written by cutting-edge researchers in the field. Written by and for both veterinarians and farriers, this book makes it easier for veterinarians and farriers to collaborate on the proper care and shoeing of the horse's foot. Text is devoted entirely to equine podiatry - with 70 percent to 80 percent of lameness problems involving the foot, this comprehensive discussion is invaluable to the equine practitioner. Highly respected and qualified authors from all over the world provide expert information, along with a chapter on the future of equine podiatry. Beautiful 4-color design and art program gives the reader helpful visual aids that clarify explanations in the text.

December 2019: Equine Lameness for the Layman : Tools for Prompt Recognition, Accurate Assessment, and Proactive Management

Call Number: eBook

Lameness is the most common cause of poor performance in the horse. This makes management of his soundness over the long–term integral to both his general well–being and his ability to participate in recreational and competitive activities. Unfortunately, most equine caretakers are unable to perceive abnormal movement in the horse, extending the period between the onset of a problem and its eventual treatment, and the longer an issue is allowed to persist, the greater the chance that it will progress. Many equine veterinarians also find it difficult to visually decipher lameness, which leads to lengthy, expensive, and often inaccurate diagnostic work–ups. It is with these two key audiences in mind that Dr. Bob Grisel has created a book unlike any other. With hundreds of illustrations, dozens of charts, and links to online videos of explanatory case studies, readers are given a complete course in observing, identifying, and decoding equine lameness. Dr. Grisel helps you interpret what is seen, plain and simple (no need for medical knowledge of equine anatomy and pathology). Whether first–time horse owner or seasoned professional, you are guaranteed to come away with a detailed, systematic, and comprehensive method for a happier, healthier equine partner.

November 2019: Horse Hoof Care

Call Number: SF 907 H53 2009

Help your horse put his best foot forward! Stressing the critical importance of hoof care to your horse's overall health, this guide covers all aspects of proper hoof maintenance -- from dealing with lost shoes, cracks, and thrush to promoting healthy hooves through a balanced diet. With in-depth discussions of hoof anatomy, the role of the farrier, and the importance of daily routines, Horse Hoof Care provides everything you need to know to give your horse a solid foundation of healthy, strong hooves.  

October 2019: Equine Wound Management

Call Number: SF 951 S8 2008

Equine Wound Management, Second Edition is a comprehensive, authoritative resource for both theoretical and practical information on the care of wounds in horses. Now highly illustrated with full-color photographs throughout, this long-awaited second edition is significantly expanded to include new developments and techniques in wound healing. Equine Wound Management is an essential reference for veterinary students, veterinary surgeons, veterinary dermatologists, and equine and large animal veterinarians.

September 2019: Horse Speak: An Equine-Human Translation Guide

Call Number: eBook

Horse Speak is not a training method or technique—it is a practical system for “listening” and “talking” to horses in their language, instead of expecting them to comprehend ours. Horse Speak can be used by anyone who works with horses, whether riding instructor, colt starter, recreational rider, or avid competitor. It promises improved understanding of what a horse is telling you, and provides simple replies you can use to tell him that you “hear” him, you “get it,” and you have ideas you want to share with him, too.The result? Time with your horse will be full of what horse trainer and equine-assisted learning instructor Sharon Wilsie of Wilsie Way Horsemanship calls Conversations, and soon the all-too-common misunderstandings that occur between horse and human will evolve into civil discussions with positive and progressive results! Learn Horse Speak in 12 easy steps; understand equine communication via breath and body language; and discover the Four Gs of Horse Speak: Greeting, Going Somewhere, Grooming, and Gone. Practice regulating your intensity, and sample dozens of ready-made Conversations with your horse, as step-by-step templates and instructional color photographs walk you through the eye-opening process of communicating on a whole new level.

August 2019: Equine Science

Call Number: SF 285.3 P36 2008

Equine Science, third edition was designed to make teaching and learning easy. Based on a thorough, easy-to-follow outline that makes developing a lesson plan simple, each chapter starts with a list of learning objectives that helps the student identify the most important concepts in the chapter. Throughout the book, tables, charts, graphs and illustrations provide easy access to information without wading through excess detail, enabling students to quickly grasp the content. To help maintain interest, each chapter contains at least one sidebar to encourage retention of the information learned, and the discussion of new topics. In the Student Activities section at the end of each chapter, students and instructors will find opportunities for learning by applying the knowledge they have gained from the book. The Appendix contains helpful tables with information for converting units of measure, and for making contact with the industry and organizations as well as web addresses for equine industries and other useful Internet sites.

July 2019: Horse welfare, use not abuse

Call Number: eBook

"Horse Welfare, Use not Abuse is about all equines from The Pony Club to the highest levels of performance-racing, show jumping, eventing and endurance riding. The book challenges all horse and pony owners to care better for their animals. In his travels, Christopher has met the leaders of most of the equestrian sports both nationally and internationally. Stories about some of these are featured, as well as anecdotes about the work of World Horse Welfare, calling on his role as a leading regulator, chairman of World Horse Welfare and lifelong horseman. From a position of authority-he held one of the highest profile jobs in the Jockey Club, steward in charge of enforcing the rules of horse racing-he provides an insight into the high stakes world of racing where winning is everything. In a sport where controversy is never far away, he calls for tougher measures to fight drug abuse. He believes the real victims are the horses. There is a warning to the professionals in the sport that they have a duty of care not just for the horses, which are the real stars, but for the sport they enjoy."--Provided by publisher.

June 2019: Equine Infectious Diseases

Call Number: SF 951 E55 2014

Ideal for both practitioners and students, this comprehensive resource covers the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of infectious disease in horses. Organized by infectious agent - virus, bacterial and rickettsial, protazoal, and fungal - it includes complete coverage of the individual diseases caused by each type of agent. A section on clinical problems examines conditions such as ocular infections, CNS infections, and skin infections. It also addresses the importance of preventing and controlling infectious disease outbreaks with coverage of epidemiology, biosecurity, antimicrobial therapy, and recognizing foreign equine diseases. Public health considerations presented in nearly every chapter discuss zoonotic disease potential and precautions, as well as other public health concerns. Appendix of infectious disease rule-outs for medical problems shows which symptoms may indicate specific infectious diseases with cross-references to the chapters in which they are discussed. Antimicrobial drug formulary appendix provides information on adjusting dosages on the basis of clinical and toxicologic data. Appendix for vaccination guidelines for horses in North America helps horse traders understand the necessary steps to avoid hefty fines and even license suspensions for non-compliance. The most up-to-date immunization recommendations for horses in North America, organized by foals/weanlings, yearlings, performance horses, pleasure horses, and broodmares. Easy access to references on PubMed links you to the original abstracts, with content updates to keep you aware of new infectious diseases and their impact on people and animals, as well as stunning downloadable images. Full-color photos and illustrations provide clear, accurate representations of clinical appearances of infectious diseases. NEW! The most up-to-date coverage of equine piroplasmosis reflects what experts have learned as more outbreaks of this tick-borne disease have occurred in the US. NEW! Content on EHV-1 keeps you current on the diagnosis and treatment of this potentially serious disease in horses. NEW! Information on how global climate changes are creating more diseases in horses keeps you alert to the possibilities of new and emerging diseases worldwide. NEW! Expanded coverage of biosecurity on farms and in veterinary practices helps you develop an effective biosecurity program and emphasizes how to isolate or eliminate the source of infectious agents. NEW! Additional clinical algorithms offer detailed prevention strategies in addition to diagnostic and therapeutic guidelines. NEW! New appendix of product and diagnostic test kit manufacturers on the companion website, gives you access to the most current products and advances available in equine medicine.

May 2019: Horse Behaviour

Call Number: SF 281 S35513 2016

Authored by an experienced ethologist, this book draws on recent research in the field of equine ethology and applies it to practical knowledge that can be used to improve the relationship between horse and owner. The focus is on interpreting horse body language and signals to enhance understanding and the bond between human and horse. The book maintains a scientific approach throughout and discusses in detail the science behind horse behavior, including the evolutionary basis of behavior, the nervous system, and behavioral development. It addresses behavior in different situations and body states, including how horses see, hear, and smell, and how these functions relate to behavior. Also covered are mating and reproductive behavior, as well as behavior when feeding, playing, and resting. It adopts a problem solving approach throughout and includes a section on undesirable behaviors and how to manage them. Practical and systematic, the book is an ideal guide for horse owners, breeders, riders, and trainers, as well as equine science students, behaviorists, and other equine para-professionals. (Series: Horse Riding and Management) [Subject: Ethology, Equine Health, Veterinary Medicine]

April 2019: Artist Blacksmith

The Artist Blacksmith is the essential handbook for anyone interested in bringing a creative, contemporary approach to this ancient craft, and for those already hooked who want to improve and expand their skills.Topics covered include: the range and use of tools and materials; fundamental blacksmithing processes; working at the anvil, drawing down, bending, upsetting and spreading, hot cutting, punching, and finally, twisting and joining. Illustrated with over 200 diagrams and photographs, The Artist Blacksmith will provide an introduction to the beginner and valuable information for the more experienced smith looking to expand their workshop.

March 2019: Home Blacksmith

Call Number: TT 221 R53 2016

As more and more people join the do-it-yourself revolution, they are breathing new life into many time-honored skills and crafts. Blacksmithing is among the trades that are enjoying a resurgence for both practical and artistic uses, yet there is not an abundance of readily accessible information available to beginning blacksmiths to help them get started and understand the craft. Author Ryan Ridgway, a veterinarian and blacksmith with more than fifteen years of metalworking experience, hopes to fill that void with this comprehensive volume geared toward answering the many questions that new blacksmiths often have. By explaining the physics of moving metal, the different styles of anvils and forges, and alternative fuel sources, Ridgway sets his book apart from less detailed volumes. Forty practical, easy-to-follow projects are presented, showing aspiring blacksmiths how to make tools, such as hammers and chisels; farm implements, such as gate latches and hoof picks; and items for home use, including drawer pulls and candle holders. Inside The Home Blacksmith: The evolution of blacksmithing around the world and the differences between the tools specific to each region The behavior of heated metal and the science of metalworking Setting up a shop safely and economically The heart of your shop--the anvil and forge--and the other essential tools Working with different types of steel, including how to salvage steel for different uses Techniques from beginning to advanced Step-by-step instructions for forty blacksmithing projects: tools and other implements as well as decorative pieces for personal use or sale

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

SF 277- 289.5 Horse Care and Training
SF 765 Veterinary medicine - Horses
SF 907 Farriery
SF 959 Lameness - Horses

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access