Skip to main content

Hospitality & Tourism Management: Books

Gain experience in leisure, tourism, sporting events, and recreation operations, to mixology, culinary theory and everything in between.

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

Featured eBooks

Book of the Month

April 2020: How Canadians Communicate VI

Call Number: eBook

Food nourishes the body, but our relationship with food extends far beyond our need for survival. Food choices not only express our personal tastes but also communicate a range of beliefs, values, affiliations and aspirations--sometimes to the exclusion of others. In the media sphere, the enormous amount of food-related advice provided by government agencies, advocacy groups, diet books, and so on compete with efforts on the part of the food industry to sell their product and to respond to a consumer-driven desire for convenience. As a result, the topic of food has grown fraught, engendering sometimes acrimonious debates about what we should eat, and why. By examining topics such as the values embedded in food marketing, the locavore movement, food tourism, dinner parties, food bank donations, the moral panic surrounding obesity, food crises, and fears about food safety, the contributors to this volume paint a rich, and sometimes unsettling portrait of how food is represented, regulated, and consumed in Canada. With chapters from leading scholars such as Ken Albala, Harvey Levenstein, Stephen Kline, and Valerie Tarasuk, the volume also includes contributions from "food insiders"--bestselling cookbook author and food editor Elizabeth Baird and veteran restaurant reviewer John Gilchrist. The result is a timely and thought-provoking look at food as a system of communication through which Canadians articulate cultural identity, personal values, and social distinction.

March 2020: Diffordsguide Cocktails: The Bartenders Bible

Call Number: TX 951 D53 2013

Includes 800 new recipes. Reviews of previous edition: Whether you take your drink shaken, stirred, on the rocks, or neat, you will still find plenty to keep you busy at the bar with this exceedingly useful resource. -- Library Journal Have ice crusher. Will travel. Especially with this 500 page hardcover bartending bible tucked under one arm. A comprehensive compendium of all things gin fizz and champagne bubbly, it features not only recipes and glossy illustrations of just how to place an umbrella on a Singapore Sling, but also detailed guides to the right garnishes, glassware and tools needed for the perfect bartender's kit. -- The Globe and Mail Simon Difford has earned a huge and loyal international following in professional bartending circles. Discerning drinkers, amateur mixologists and professional bartenders will continue to find this 11th edition of his Cocktails to be an indispensable reference. Practical and inspiring, this book contains 3000 recipes from the traditional to the new and inventive. Each easy-to-follow recipe has a color photograph of the assembled drink in its assigned glass, ingredient measures, directions, garnish, variations, plus fascinating information on the cocktail's origin. This 11th edition includes 800 new recipes, plus: An A to Z recipe directory Detailed instructions for beginners, including all the basic skills Recommendations for the best equipment A directory of glass types The 14 key alcoholic ingredients, which make a minimum of 450 cocktails The 9 essential juices and mixers The 18 essential refrigerator and cupboard staples An index of ingredients and the cocktails they are used in The top 100 great cocktail bars of the world.

February 2020: Can I Have Your Attention?

Call Number: eBook

"A must read for anyone in the business of leading others." Ken May, CEO of Top Golf; former CEO of Fedex "If you want your team to stay focused, you will want to read Can I Have Your Attention?" Chester Elton, New York Times Best-Selling author of All In, The Carrot Principle and What Motivates Me Inspire better work habits. Focus your team. Get stuff done in the constantly connected workplace. As our workloads expand, attention has never been more valuable. Or more difficult to keep. In Can I Have your Attention?, Curt Steinhorst shows business leaders how to cut through the noise and get their employees back to work. Curt has spent years helping Fortune 500 companies overcome distraction and achieve focus. With technology creating endless opportunites to "improve productivity", people spend so much time responding to the interruptions that they've lost the ability to focus and do their jobs. Yet, the potential for harnessing the power of your team's attention has never been greater--if you can capture it. You'll learn how to: Implement a comprehensive organizational strategy to increase focus and overcome digital distraction. Take back control of the technology in your organization and life. Establish a Communication Compact, defining how, when, and why your team will communicate with each other. Create a "vault" to increase productivity, decrease stress, and boost your creativity. Free yourself and your employees from the never-ending flood of emails and messages. Achieve unmatched focus in the age of distraction. The smartphone isn't going away. Learn the simple rules and guidelines that will improve focus and create the mental space needed for your people to work to their full potential.

January 2020: The Handbook of Managing and Marketing Tourism Experiences

Call Number: eBook

The planning, design, management and marketing of experiences for tourism markets is a major challenge for tourism destinations and providers in a globalized and highly competitive market. This book bridges the gap in contemporary literature by carefully examining the management and marketing of tourism experiences.  It has the following specific objectives: first to analyse the main issues and challenges related to tourism experience management and marketing; second, to present and discuss adequate analytical frameworks and tools; third to explore the adoption and implementation of approaches to managing and marketing experiences in various tourism contexts and industries; and finally to present and discuss case studies illustrating approaches adopted, methods implemented and best practices in addressing related issues. The book concludes by providing strategic management and marketing implications and recommendations for tourism businesses and destinations to enable them to successfully create, manage, market and evaluate tourism experiences.

December 2019: Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview

Call Number: HF 5549.5.I6 P687 2015

When it comes to getting a job, the smallest thing can trip you up. For 30 years, Dr. Paul Powers has asked thousands of successful job hunters a few basic but important questions: What do you wish someone had told you when you started your job search? What (obvious or not-so-obvious) job hunting mistake will you never make again? What job hunting tip, secret, or technique would you stress to your very best friend? Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview is packed with strategies and techniques that are practical, market proven, easy to use, and often humorous. Added to this powerful mix are the hard-won lessons from the personal experiences of thousands of professionals who have succeeded in the job-changing game. Don't Wear Flip-Flops to Your Interview takes you through every crucial step in your job search, from getting interviews and answering those really tricky questions to negotiating the best deal possible.

November 2019: The Joy of Mixology

Call Number: TX 951 R362 2003

An original book on the craft of mixology is a rare gem. Gary Regan's The Joy of Mixology is such a gem, one whose genius lies in Regan's breakthrough system for categorizing drinks that helps bartenders--both professionals and amateurs alike--not only to remember drink recipes but also to invent their own. For example, once you understand that the Margarita is a member of the New Orleans Sour Family, you'll instantly see that a Kamikaze is just a vodka-based Margarita; a Cosmopolitan follows the same formula, with some cranberry juice thrown in for color. Similarly, the Manhattan and the Rob Roy, both members of the French-Italian family, are variations on the whiskey-vermouth-bitters formula. In this way Regan brings a whole new understanding to the world of cocktails and how to make them. Not only will you learn how to make standard cocktails, you'll actually learn to feel your way through making a drink, thereby attaining the skills needed to create concoctions of your own. And as Regan explains methods for mixing drinks, how to choose bartenders' wares and select spirits and liqueurs, and the origins of many cocktails, you'll feel as though you're behind the bar with him, learning from a master. Plus, his charming and detailed history of mixed drinks raises this far above the standard cocktail guide fare. With more than 350 drink recipes, The Joy of Mixology is the ultimate bar guide. Ground-breaking and authoritative, it's a must-have for anyone interested in the craft of the cocktail.

October 2019: Hospitality Experience : An Introduction to Hospitality Management

Call Number: eBook

Hospitality Experience The second edition of Hospitality Experience offers you an exciting introduction to key aspects of hospitality management. The book's main strength is that it shows you step-by-step how to create and manage those unique hospitality experiences. You will benefit from the book's integrated set of cases and examples. The book has a very clear structure: 1 What is hospitality management? 2 Who are the players involved in it, also beyond the borders of the hospitality industry itself and in the future? 3 How to design, deliver and manage the ultimate hospitality experience? Why choose Hospitality Experience: • it provides a complete overview of the hospitality industry; • it introduces you to the basics of hospitality management; • it offers you exciting analysis as well as cases and practical examples, which have been updated in this second edition; • the second edition also includes a new chapter on intercultural hospitality experiences. Hospitality Experience is primarily designed for first-year students in Hospitality Management and Hotel Management majors, as well as related minors. But if you are an advanced student in Hospitality Management programs or a professional working in the business, this book will also be of great benefit to you. The authors Hospitality Experience has been written by experienced teachers at Hotel Management Schools in the Netherlands and is therefore ideal for students enrolled in one of those degree programmes.

September 2019: Thug kitchen : eat like you give a f*ck

Call Number: TX 837 T57 2014

Thug Kitchen started their wildly popular web site to inspire people to eat some Goddamn vegetables and adopt a healthier lifestyle. Beloved by Gwyneth Paltrow ("This might be my favorite thing ever") and named Saveur's Best New Food Blog of 2013 — with half a million Facebook fans and counting — Thug Kitchen wants to show everyone how to take charge of their plates and cook up some real f*cking food.

Yeah, plenty of blogs and cookbooks preach about how to eat more kale, why ginger fights inflammation, and how to cook with microgreens and nettles. But they are dull or pretentious as hell — and most people can’t afford the hype.

Thug Kitchen lives in the real world. In their first cookbook, they’re throwing down more than 100 recipes for their best-loved meals, snacks, and sides for beginning cooks to home chefs. (Roasted Beer and Lime Cauliflower Tacos? Pumpkin Chili? Grilled Peach Salsa? Believe that sh*t.) Plus they’re going to arm you with all the info and techniques you need to shop on a budget and go and kick a bunch of ass on your own.

This book is an invitation to everyone who wants to do better to elevate their kitchen game. No more ketchup and pizza counting as vegetables. No more drive-thru lines. No more avoiding the produce corner of the supermarket. Sh*t is about to get real.

August 2019: Buck, Buck, Moose

Call Number: TX 751 S53 2016

Buck, Buck, Moose is a full-color guide to working with and cooking all forms of venison, including deer, elk, moose, antelope and caribou. This cookbook will take you around the world, from nose to tail. The book features more than 100 recipes ranging from traditional dishes from six continents to original recipes never before seen. You'll also get thorough instructions on how to butcher, age and store your venison, as well as how to use virtually every part of the animal. Buck, Buck, Moose also includes a lengthy section on curing venison and sausage-making. Peppered throughout are stories of the hunt and essays on why venison holds such a special place in human society.

July 2019: The MeatEater Fish and Game Cookbook

Call Number: TX 751 R56 2018

Steven Rinella is widely respected for his knowledge of the outdoors, natural history, and food (his recipes in his hunting manuals are often cited by fans as their favorite part of the books). This cookbook includes recipes for big game, small game, waterfowl, upland birds, both freshwater and saltwater fish, reptiles, amphibians, shellfish, and crustaceans, as well as basic recipes for stocks, sauces, marinades, pickles, and rubs. Rinella is a masterful storyteller, and the book includes personal stories as well as practical advice. It explains how to break down and cook wild game with step-by-step recipes and gorgeous photos.

June 2019: Marketing: An Introduction

Call Number: HF 5415 M357 2013

This best-selling, brief text introduces marketing through the lens of creating value for customers.   With engaging real-world examples and information, Marketing: An Introduction shows readers how customer value--creating it and capturing it--drives every effective marketing strategy.

May 2019: The Elder Scrolls

Call Number: TX 714 M66 2019

Feast your way through Skyrim, Morrowind, and Tamriel with The Elder Scrolls: The Official Cookbook.  Feast on all of the delicious dishes found in Skyrim, Morrowind, and all of Tamriel in this beautifully crafted cookbook based on the award-winning Elder Scrolls game series. Immerse yourself in the diverse cuisines of the Nords, Bosmer, Khajit, and beyond with these recipes inspired by food found in the Old Kingdom, across Tamriel, and more. With over sixty delicious recipes for fan-favorite recipes including Apple Cabbage Stew, Sunlight Souffle, Sweetrolls, and more, The Elder Scrolls: The Official Cookbook will delight every hungry Dragonborn. 

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

TP 368 - 456  Food processing and manufacture
TP 500 - 660 Fermentation industries, Beverages, Alcohol
TX 1 - 299 Home Economics (General)
TX 341 - 641 Nutrition, Foods and food supply
TX 643 - 840 Cookery
TX 851 - 885  Home Economics. Dining-Room Service
TX 901 - 953 Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
Z 5986 Food Service. Restaurants. Bibliography
Z 6011 - 6019 Home Economics. Dining-Room Service
Z 6250  Hospitality Industry. Hotels. Bibliography

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Featured Books

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access