Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Meat Processing: Books

Techniques for professional meat cutting, trimming, boning, breaking, wrapping, sausage-making and curing with professional sanitation and food safety applications, including HACCP.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Charcutería

Call Number: eBook 

The Soul of Spain is the first book to introduce authentic Spanish butchering and meat-curing techniques to the American market. Included are more than 100 traditional Spanish recipes, straightforward illustrations providing easy-to-follow steps for amateur and professional butchers, and gorgeous full-color photography of savory dishes, Iberian countrysides, and centuries-old Spanish cityscapes. Author Jeffrey Weiss has written an entertaining, extravagantly detailed guide on Spain's unique cuisine and its history of charcuter#65533;a, which is deservedly becoming more celebrated on the global stage. While Spain stands porky cheek-to-jowl with other great cured-meat-producing nations like Italy and France, the charcuterie traditions of Spain are perhaps the least understood of this trifecta. Americans have most likely never tasted the sheer eye-rolling deliciousness that is cured Spanish meats: chorizo, the garlic-and-piment#65533;n-spiked ambassador of Spanish cuisi≠ morcilla, the family of blood sausages flavoring regional cuisine from Barcelona to Badajoz; and jam#65533;n, the acorn-scented, modern-day crown jewel of Spain's charcuter#65533;a legacy. Charcuter#65533;a: The Soul of Spain is a collection of delicious recipes, uproarious anecdotes, and time-honored Spanish culinary traditions. The author has amassed years of experience working with the cured meat traditions of Spain, and this book will surely become a standard guide for both professional and home cooks.

March 2020: The Chain: farm, factory, and the fate of our food

Call Number: HD 9415 G46 2014

A powerful and important work of investigative journalism that explores the runaway growth of the American meatpacking industry and its dangerous consequences. On the production line in American packinghouses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Every year, the chain conveyors that set the pace of slaughter have continually accelerated to keep up with America’s growing appetite for processed meat. Acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and soaring recession-era demand for its most famous product, Spam, to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America. Genoways interviewed scores of industry line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists. He reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point and exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant workers. The narrative moves across the heartland, from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows caused by the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back. A work of brilliant reporting, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden cost of the food we eat.

February 2020: Advances in Meat, Poultry and Seafood Packaging

Call Number: eBook

Packaging plays an essential role in limiting undesired microbial growth and sensory deterioration. Advances in meat, poultry and seafood packaging provides a comprehensive review of both current and emerging technologies for the effective packaging of muscle foods. Part one provides a comprehensive overview of key issues concerning the safety and quality of packaged meat, poultry and seafood. Part two goes on to investigate developments in vacuum and modified atmosphere packaging for both fresh and processed muscle foods, including advances in bulk packaging and soluble carbon dioxide use. Other packaging methods are the focus of part three, with the packaging of processed, frozen, ready-to-serve and retail-ready meat, seafood and poultry products all reviewed, alongside advances in sausage casings and in-package pasteurization. Finally, part four explores emerging labelling and packaging techniques. Environmentally-compatible, antimicrobial and antioxidant active packaging for meat and poultry are investigated, along with edible films, smart packaging systems, and issues regarding traceability and regulation. With its distinguished editor and international team of expert contributors, Advances in meat, poultry and seafood packaging is a key text for those involved with the research, development and production of packaged meat, poultry and seafood products. It also provides an essential overview for post-graduate students and academic researchers with an interest in the packaging of muscle foods.

January 2020: Handbook of Fermented Meat and Poultry

Call Number: eBook

Fermented meat products have been consumed for centuries in many different parts of the world and constitute one of the most important groups of food. Bacterial cultures are used in their manufacture to preserve the meat and confer particular textures and sensory attributes. Examples of fermented meats include salami, chorizo, pepperoni and saucisson. This fully revised and expanded reference book on meat fermentation presents all the principle fermented meat products and the processing technologies currently used in their manufacture. The 54 chapters of this substantial book are grouped into the following sections: Meat fermentation worldwide: overview, production and principles Raw materials Microbiology and starter cultures for meat fermentation Sensory attributes Product categories: general considerations Semidry-fermented sausages Dry-fermented sausages Other fermented meats and poultry Ripened meat products Biological and chemical safety of fermented meat products Processing sanitation and quality assurance There are five new chapters in the second edition that address the following topics:  Smoking and new smoke flavourings; Probiotics; Methodologies for the study of the microbial ecology in fermented sausages; Low sodium in meat products; and Asian sausages. Handbook of Fermented Meat and Poultry, Second Edition provides readers with a full overview of meat fermentation, the role of microorganisms naturally present and/or added as starter cultures, safety aspects and an account of the main chemical, biochemical, physical and microbiological changes that occur in processing and how they affect final quality. Finally, readers will find the main types of worldwide fermented meat products, typically produced in different areas, with the description of their main characteristics.

December 2019: Whole Beast Butchery

Call Number: TS 1960 F37 2011

DIY fever + quality meat mania = old-school butchery revival! Artisan cooks who are familiar with their farmers market are now buying small farm raised meat in butcher-sized portions. Dubbed a rock star butcher by theNew York Times, San Francisco chef and self-taught meat expert Ryan Farr demystifies the butchery process with 500 step-by-step photographs, master recipes for key cuts, and a primer on tools, techniques, and meat handling. This visual manual is the first to teach by showing exactly what butchers know, whether cooks want to learn how to turn a primal into familiar and special cuts or to simply identify everything in the case at the market.

November 2019: Sustainable Meat Production and Processing

Call Number: eBook

Sustainable Meat Production and Processing presents current solutions to promote industrial sustainability and best practices in meat production, from postharvest to consumption. The book acts as a guide for meat and animal scientists, technologists, engineers, professionals and producers. The 12 most trending topics of sustainable meat processing and meat by-products management are included, as are advances in ingredient and processing systems for meat products, techno-functional ingredients for meat products, protein recovery from meat processing by-products, applications of blood proteins, artificial meat production, possible uses of processed slaughter co-products, and environmental considerations. Finally, the book covers the preferred technologies for sustainable meat production, natural antioxidants as additives in meat products, and facilitators and barriers for foods containing meat co-products.

October 2019: Meat Culture

Call Number: eBook

The analysis of meat and its place in Western culture has been central to Human-Animal Studies as a field. It is even more urgent now as global meat and dairy production are projected to rise dramatically by 2050. While the term 'carnism' denotes the invisible belief system (or ideology) that naturalizes and normalizes meat consumption, in this volume we focus on 'meat culture', which refers to all the tangible and practical forms through which carnist ideology is expressed and lived. Featuring new work from leading Australasian, European and North American scholars, Meat Culture, edited by Annie Potts, interrogates the representations and discourses, practices and behaviours, diets and tastes that generate shared beliefs about, perspectives on and experiences of meat in the 21st century.

September 2019: Organic Meat Production and Processing

Call Number: TS 1970 O74 2012

Organic Meat Production and Processing describes the challenges of production, processing and food safety of organic meat. The editors and international collection of authors explore the trends in organic meats and how the meat industry is impacted. Commencing with chapters on the economics, market and regulatory aspects of organic meats, coverage then extends to management issues for organically raised and processed meat animals. Processing, sensory and human health aspects are covered in detail, as are the incidences of foodborne pathogens in organic beef, swine, poultry and other organic meat species. The book concludes by describing pre-harvest control measures for assuring the safety of organic meats. Organic Meat Production and Processing serves as a unique resource for fully understanding the current and potential issues associated with organic meats.

August 2019: Butchering Poultry, Rabbit, Lamb, Goat, and Pork

Call Number: eBook

Slaughter and butcher your own animals safely and humanely with this award-winning guide. Providing detailed photography of every step of the process, Adam Danforth shows you everything you need to know to butcher poultry, rabbit, lamb, goat, and pork. Learn how to create the proper slaughtering conditions, break the meat down, and produce flavorful cuts of meat. Stressing proper food safety at all times, Danforth provides expert advice on necessary tools and helpful tips on freezing and packaging. Enjoy the delicious satisfaction that comes with butchering your own meat.

July 2019: Barbecue Sauces

Call Number: TX 840 B3 R35 2017

Barbecue Sauces, Rubs, and Marinades is Steven Raichlen's bestselling encyclopedia of the flavor boosters, dry and wet, that give grilled food its character, personality, depth, and soul. With more than 630,000 copies in print, it's the secret weapon of at-home pitmasters and professionals looking to up their game. Now this indispensable book has been revised and fully updated, with a bold, fresh new look and full-color photographs throughout. In it you'll find over 200 recipes for chile-fired rubs, lemony marinades, buttery bastes, pack-a-wallop sauces, plus mops,  slathers, sambals, and chutneys--a cornucopia of American and global flavor combinations. The book includes all the latest advances in barbecuing and grilling techniques, and more--plus updated and brand-new recipes for sauces, rubs, and the finished dishes they boost, such as Korea Town Brisket, Jamaican Jerk Spareribs, and Kung Pao Smoked Chicken. Also includes a step-by-step guide to building a signature barbecue sauce.  

June 2019: Meathead: the Science of Great Barbecue and Grilling

Call Number: TX 840 .B3 G63 2016

For succulent results every time, nothing is more crucial than understanding the science behind the interaction of food, fire, heat, and smoke. This is the definitive guide to the concepts, methods, equipment, and accessories of barbecue and grilling. The founder and editor of the world's most popular BBQ and grilling website, AmazingRibs.com, "Meathead" Goldwyn applies the latest research to backyard cooking and 118 thoroughly tested recipes.   He explains why dry brining is better than wet brining; how marinades really work; why rubs shouldn't have salt in them; how heat and temperature differ; the importance of digital thermometers; why searing doesn't seal in juices; how salt penetrates but spices don't; when charcoal beats gas and when gas beats charcoal; how to calibrate and tune a grill or smoker; how to keep fish from sticking; cooking with logs; the strengths and weaknesses of the new pellet cookers; tricks for rotisserie cooking; why cooking whole animals is a bad idea, which grill grates are best;and why beer-can chicken is a waste of good beer and nowhere close to the best way to cook a bird.   He shatters the myths that stand in the way of perfection. Busted misconceptions include:   * Myth: Bring meat to room temperature before cooking.Busted! Cold meat attracts smoke better.   *Myth: Soak wood before using it.Busted! Soaking produces smoke that doesn't taste as good as dry fast-burning wood.   *Myth:Bone-in steaks taste better.Busted! The calcium walls of bone have no taste and they just slow cooking.   *Myth: You should sear first, then cook.Busted! Actually, that overcooks the meat. Cooking at a low temperature first and searing at the end produces evenly cooked meat.   Lavishly designed with hundreds of illustrations and full-color photos by the author, this book contains all the sure-fire recipes for traditional American favorites and many more outside-the-box creations. You'll get recipes for all the great regional barbecue sauces; rubs for meats and vegetables; Last Meal Ribs, Simon & Garfunkel Chicken; Schmancy Smoked Salmon; The Ultimate Turkey; Texas Brisket; Perfect Pulled Pork; Sweet & Sour Pork with Mumbo Sauce; Whole Hog; Steakhouse Steaks; Diner Burgers; Prime Rib; Brazilian Short Ribs; Rack Of Lamb Lollipops; Huli-Huli Chicken; Smoked Trout Florida Mullet -Sty≤ Baja Fish Tacos; Lobster, and many more.

May 2019: Jerky: the Fatted Calf's guide to preserving & cooking dried meaty goods

Call Number: TX 612 M4 B64 2018

Perfect for home canners and preservers; hunters; followers of a Paleo, Keto, or high-protein diet; fans of dehydrators; or anyone looking to explore the centuries-old craft of drying meat, this beautifully photographed cookbook contains 40 easy-to-follow recipes for making and cooking with homemade jerky.  IACP AWARD FINALIST From the IACP and James Beard Award-nominated authors of In the Charcuterie comes this concise guide to the art of making jerky at home. Approximately 40 recipes teach you how to make jerky and other dried meat dishes from a variety of proteins, including beef, pork, venison, and wild game. Clear step-by-step instructions plus beautiful and informative photographs show you how to butcher and season your meat, use a range of techniques and equipment, and even cook with your homemade jerky. These globally inspired recipes pull from Italian, French, Vietnamese, and Mexican culinary traditions, making this the perfect book for the modern meat enthusiast.

Browse the Shelves

Call Numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to Meat Processing topics.

TX 1950-1981 Meat Processing Topics
TX 749-750 Cooking Meat

Please ask the library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access