Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turfgrass Management: Books

Learn about managing turfgrass, turfgrass operational strategies, environmental principles for pesticide application, sustainable golf course irrigation, and construction principles.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators

Call Number: eBook

Pollinators play a vital role in ecosystem health and are essential to ensuring food security. With declines in both managed and wild pollinator populations in recent years, scientists and regulators have sought answers to this problem and have explored implementing steps to protect pollinator populations now and for the future. Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators focuses on the role pesticides play in impacting bee populations and looks to develop a risk assessment process, along with the data to inform that process, to better assess the potential risks that can accompany the use of pesticide products. Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators opens with two chapters that provide a biological background of both Apis and non-Apis species of pollinators. Chapters then present an overview of the general regulatory risk assessment process and decision-making processes. The book then discusses the core elements of a risk assessment, including exposure estimation, laboratory testing, and field testing.nbsp; The book concludes with chapters on statistical and modeling tools, and proposed additional research that may be useful in developing the ability to assess the impacts of pesticide use on pollinator populations. Summarizing the current state of the science surrounding risk assessment for Apis and non-Apis species, Pesticide Risk Assessment for Pollinators is a timely work that will be of great use to the environmental science and agricultural research communities. Assesses pesticide risk to native and managed pollinators Summarizes the state of the science in toxicity testing and risk assessment Provides valuable biological overviews of both Apis and non-Apis pollinators Develops a plausible overall risk assessment framework for regulatory decision making Looks towards a globally harmonized approach for pollinator toxicity and risk assessment

March 2020: Banned: a history of pesticides and the science of toxicology

Call Number: SB 950.2 A1 D38 2014

Silent Spring catalyzed an environmental movement in the 1960s and achieved a ban on DDT, but are the alternatives any less toxic? Rachel Carson's eloquent book Silent Spring stands as one of the most important books of the twentieth century and inspired important and long-lasting changes in environmental science and government policy. Frederick Rowe Davis thoughtfully sets Carson's study in the context of the twentieth century, reconsiders her achievement, and analyzes its legacy in light of toxic chemical use and regulation today.   Davis examines the history of pesticide development alongside the evolution of the science of toxicology and tracks legislation governing exposure to chemicals across the twentieth century. He affirms the brilliance of Carson's careful scientific interpretations drawing on data from university and government toxicologists. Although Silent Spring instigated legislation that successfully terminated DDT use, other warnings were ignored. Ironically, we replaced one poison with even more toxic ones. Davis concludes that we urgently need new thinking about how we evaluate and regulate pesticides in accounting for their ecological and human toll.

February 2020: Handbook of Pesticide: Methods of Pesticide Residues Analysis

Call Number: eBook

This handbook provides a systematic description of the principles, procedures, and technology of the modern analytical techniques used in the detection, extraction, clean up, and determination of pesticide residues present in the environment. This book provides the historical background of pesticides and emerging trends in pesticide regulation. The

January 2020: Golf Course Irrigation: environmental design and management practices

Call Number: GV 978 G565 2003

Complete guidelines to developing and maintaining the most effective, environment-friendly irrigation systems for golf courses Golf Course Irrigation offers valuable insight on the design, installation, management, and maintenance of irrigation systems-the most important management tool used on today's golf courses. Without manufacturers' bias, this useful resource provides hands-on guidance to the highest quality irrigation systems, including specifications and applications of the best pump stations, controllers, sprinkler heads, nozzles, valves, sensors, and other components that make the difference in top-quality irrigation systems. Typically regarded as significant users of water, golf courses are under increasing scrutiny by governmental and environmental groups, making it essential that the up-to-date information found here-on such topics as water supply, plant irrigation requirements, application uniformity, and construction management-be at the fingertips of every golf course professional. While fostering the best playing conditions, these systems conserve water and energy with such technology as low-pressure heads and controls that use "if/then" logic to automatically adjust to changing conditions, which can improve playability while saving money. Golf Course Irrigation is a practical tool to help golf course architects, builders, superintendents, irrigation consultants, designers, and installers to improve aesthetics and playing conditions in the face of diminishing natural resources. It is also an informative reference for golf course owners, developers, local officials, students, and fans of the game.

December 2019: Creeping Bentgrass Management

Call Number: eBook

Creeping bentgrass is considered the premier turfgrass species grown on golf courses, and there is a growing demand for an understanding of its maintenance and management practices. Still the only comprehensive reference on the subject, Creeping Bentgrass Management, Second Editionhelps you identify the factors that contribute to summer bentgrass decline and guides you in selecting the best approaches for stress and pest management. This full-color book delves into all aspects of modern approaches to creeping bentgrass management on golf courses. It describes the nature of mechanical, physiological, and environmental stresses and how they influence growth and management of creeping bentgrass. The book covers the selection of creeping bentgrass cultivars; cultural practices, including mowing, irrigation, and topdressing; the deleterious effects of organic and inorganic layers in golf greens; and ways to limit injury due to mechanical or physical stresses. It also discusses recent advances in the management of selected diseases and soil-related maladies of creeping bentgrass--from Pythium-incited root dysfunction to dollar spot, yellow tuft, and blue-green algae. The focus is on common disease symptoms, predisposing conditions, hosts, and cultural and chemical management strategies. Advances in biological disease control are also reviewed. The book offers practical guidance in selecting and using fungicides, herbicides, and plant growth regulators. It also discusses the use of non-selective herbicides and fumigants for the renovation of creeping bentgrass and outlines strategies for dealing with selected invertebrate pests. Throughout, color photographs help you identify diseases and stresses that may be affecting your own golf course. Fully revised and updated, this second edition of a bestseller features three new chapters, new photographs, and expanded information about diseases....

November 2019: The Turf Problem Solver

Call Number: SB 608 T87 T88 2006

Written by two leading experts, this practical tool offers detailed advice on defining, analyzing, and solving today?s most common turf problems. Presented in a distinguished case-based approach, it features solutions for environmental, cultural, and pest and pesticide turf problems; coverage of human resources issues; and accessible methods for evaluation, analysis, and synthesis.

October 2019: Water Use Efficiency for Irrigated Turf and Landscape

Call Number: eBook

Water Use Efficiency for Irrigated Turf and Landscape provides a logical and scientifically sound approach to irrigation in urban areas in Australia. It is based on green space delivering defined outcomes using the principles of water sensitive urban design and irrigation efficiency. The book covers all stages of the water pathway from the source to delivery into the plant root zone. Major topics include system planning, estimating water demand, water quality, irrigation systems, soil management and irrigation performance evaluation. Features include clearly presented explanations, line drawings and worked examples and a plant water use database covering more than 250 plant species. A Water Management Planning template is included to guide water managers and operators through a process that will deliver a sound plan to achieve sustainable turf, urban trees and landscapes. Best Management Practice Irrigation principles are outlined and their implementation in open space turf and landscape situations is explained. The benefits and limitations of the various methods of delivering water to plants are covered, together with case studies and guidelines for specific horticultural situations. Methodologies to evaluate irrigated sites are included along with recommended benchmark values.

September 2019: Color Atlas of Turfgrass Weeds

Call Number: SB 608 T87 C645 2001

Identify and control weeds with this colorful, expanded edition--with bonus CD For more than a decade, the Color Atlas of Turfgrass Weeds has been the leading authority for green industry professionals in their ongoing quest to control weeds and limit deleterious effects: the weed clumps, color variation, and unsightly patches that disrupt turf uniformity. The Second Edition of this essential resource has been expanded and updated to provide control information that professionals need to maintain the quality that is so vital to the golf, sports field, and managed landscape industries. This new and expanded edition includes these vital updates: 50 new weed profiles, plus 400 additional, high-quality, full-color photographs featuring photographs of the weed in habit, the seedhead or flower, and in some cases, what the weed looks like when dormant An accompanying CD that features more than 1,000 photographs Valuable control strategies and recommendations for every weed Each weed alphabetically arranged by family and scientific name An alphabetical index that shows all the weeds featured

August 2019: Sports Turf and Amenity Grasses

Call Number: eBook

Sports Turf and Amenity Grasses is a comprehensive reference for anyone involved with the selection and maintenance of grasses used in sports and amenity areas in all areas. It provides a means to identify these grasses through keys, descriptions and photographs, and also provides detailed information on sowing, oversowing, stolonising and mowing heights. The performance of each grass is assessed and detailed comments made on positive and negative aspects of its use. A grass's tolerance to high temperature, frost, drought, shade, wet soil, salinity, low soil fertility, wear and close mowing is given in a table with each aspect rated. Further comments are made on how well it combines with particular grasses and on issues such as seedling vigour and sowing times.

July 2019: Soil Nitrogen Uses and Environmental Impacts

Call Number: eBook

Nitrogen (N) is potentially one of the most complex elements on the Earth. It is necessary for all biological activity, but creates negative impacts on water and air quality. There is a balancing act between deficiency and surplus and the forms of N available further complicate our understanding of the dynamics. Biological fixation provides some plants with N supply while others are totally dependent upon N being available in the soil profile for the roots to extract. Nevertheless, the demand for N will increase because the human population with its increasing growth requires more protein and thus more N. Understanding the global N cycle is imperative to meeting current and future nitrogen demands while decreasing environmental impacts. This book discusses availability, production, and recycling of N in air, water, plants, and soils. It features information on N impacts to soil and water quality, management of N in agroecosystems, and techniques to maximize the use efficiency while minimizing the risks of leakage of reactive N into the environment. This volume in the Advances in Soil Scienceseries is specifically devoted to availability, production, and recycling of N with impact on climate change and water quality, and management of N in agroecosystems in the context of maximizing the use efficiency and minimizing the risks of leakage of reactive N (NO-3, N¬2O) into the environment.     the use efficiency while minimizing the risks of leakage of reactive N into the environment. This volume in the Advances in Soil Scienceseries is specifically devoted to availability, production, and recycling of N with impact on climate change and water quality, and management of N in agroecosystems in the context of maximizing the use efficiency and minimizing the risks of leakage of reactive N (NO-3, N¬2O) into the environment.    

June 2019: Weed Control in Turf Grass and Ornamentals

Call Number: SB 608 T87 T89 2009

Weed Control in Turf and Ornamentalsprovides thorough coverage of weeds that are important in turfgrass and ornamentals-plant communities. The herbicides used in these plant communities are thoroughly treated with respect to their action and metabolism in the plant, their fate in the environment, and proper application methods. Additionally, weed control measures are covered with special emphasis on the safe and effective use of herbicides.landscape artisits or horticulturists

May 2019: Soil Fertility and Fertilizers

Call Number: S 633 S715 2014

For courses in Soil Fertility, Nutrient Management, and Plant Nutrition in Agriculture.   Soil Fertility and Fertilizers: An Introduction to Nutrient Management, 8th Edition, provides a thorough understanding of the biological, chemical, and physical properties affecting soil fertility and plant nutrition. Covering all aspects of nutrient management for profitable crop production, the text pays particular attention to minimising the environmental impact of soil and fertilizer management. The eighth edition of this proven text has been substantially revised to reflect rapidly advancing knowledge and technologies in both plant nutrition and nutrient management.

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

GV 961-988 Golf
QK 495 Grasses
SB 433 Turfgrasses and Turf Management
SB 608-615 Turf Diseases, Pests, & Weeds

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access