Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Medical Receptionist: Books

Learn a variety of office administration and veterinary medicine skills that will train you to become a valued member of a veterinary team.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Fracture Management for the Small Animal Practitioner

Call Number: eBook

Fracture Management for the Small Animal Practitioner offers practical strategies and helpful approaches for managing fractures in dogs and cats.  *    Contains all the information needed to successfully manage the most common fractures in dogs and cats *    Emphasizes clinically oriented tips for treating fractures from experienced surgeons *    Offers an abundance of color photographs to illustrate the techniques  

March 2020: Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats

Call Number: eBook

Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats, Third Edition provides a comprehensive exploration of current knowledge of breed predispositions based on rigorous examination of primary research.  Incorporates the latest research, new testing methods, and newly-discovered predispositions and diseases Provides expanded information on genetics, epidemiology, and longevity Includes key characteristics of diseases, including pathogenesis, genetics, risks, and common presentations Indexes dogs and cats by breed, with listings of common inherited and predisposed disorders organized by body system Includes absolute and relative frequency/occurrence data for conditions, along with references to further information  

February 2020: Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team

Call Number: SF 756.4 P74 2011

The only book of its kind, Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team focuses on the day-to-day duties of the veterinary team. It offers a complete guide to scheduling appointments, billing and accounting, communicating effectively and compassionately with clients, managing medical records, budgeting, marketing your practice, managing inventory, using outside diagnostic laboratory services, and much more. Written by Heather Prendergast, RVT, CVPM, this manual simplifies essential tasks with step-by-step instructions! Exercises on the Evolve website offer additional practice with front office tasks. Interactive working forms give you experience completing sample checks, deposit slips, patient history forms, and incident reports. The latest information on electronic banking and tax forms ensures that you adhere to the most current financial guidelines. What Would You Do/Not Do boxes provide scenarios to expose you to real-life situations that occur in veterinary practice and guide you through to an appropriate resolution. Review questions test your understanding of concepts presented in each chapter. Practice Point boxes highlight practical information to remember while on the job. Veterinary Practice and the Law boxes provide essential information about laws that you must know in order to run an ethical practice and to protect the practice. Key terms and learning objectives guide you through study of the most important content.

January 2020: Dog Bites: A Multidisciplinary Perspective

Call Number: eBooks

The issue of dog bites and dog aggression directed at humans is frequently in the media. However, scientific research and evidence on the subject is scattered and sparse. Public and political opinions are often misinformed and out of proportion to the extent of the problem. Dog Bites brings together expert knowledge of the current situation, from a wide variety of disciplines, to provide information to the many people and professions affected by this issue. Subjects range from the practical, medical, behavioural, sociological, and theoretical, but the overall approach of the book is objective and integrative. Topics addressed include: the genetic basis of aggression; the public image of aggressive dogs; bite statistics; risk factors; the forensics and surgical aspects of dog bites; international legal perspectives; court evidence; first aid treatment; zoonotic disease potential; behavioural rehabilitation options; the risk to children; and a consideration of why some dogs kill. All contributors are academic or long-standing professional experts in their field, and they represent a wide spread of international expertise. This issue is an important one for pet owners, vets, animal shelters, and anyone who works with dogs, such as the police. This book will be a valuable resource for them, as well as for animal behaviourists, academic researchers, health professionals, dog breeders, and handlers. *** "... the first comprehensive resource on the subject of dog bites... The overall intent of the book is to prevent dog bites. ...does a good job of compiling the information we think we know about dog bites into one place. It also debunks much of what were previously accepted truths about dog bites to humans. In the final chapter, the editors state they hope that 'highlighting the many deficiencies in our understanding will inspire rather than demoralize' and that they 'have offered a point of reference not just to the problems but also the solutions'". --Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, Vol. 252, No. 6, March 15, 2018 [Subject: Veterinary Science, Public Policy, Animal Behavior, Animal Policing]

December 2019: Safe Handling and Restraint of Animals

Call Number: SF 760 .A54 C43 2018

Provides all you need to know about the safe and humane handling and restraint of animals. Safe Handling and Restraint of Animals takes a holistic approach to the handling of a wide variety of animal species. This comprehensive resource offers a thorough overview of how to safely handle and restrain a number of commonly encountered species including dogs, cats, small mammals, exotic pets, horses and farm animals. Each chapter discusses the behaviour of the species and then outlines the appropriate handling and restraint methods, including any equipment required, multiple explanatory photographs, and useful further reading. Covers a wide range of species commonly encountered by veterinary staff and those working within animal industries Includes key points and self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter, and a glossary of terms Ideal for students of any animal-related degree or diploma programme, including veterinary medicine, veterinary nursing, and animal studies and husbandry Written for students and professionals who work with animals, Safe Handling and Restraint of Animals: A Comprehensive Guide encompasses all aspects of handling and physical restraint, including biosecurity and welfare issues. 

November 2019: Farm Animal Surgery

Call Number: SF 911 F25 2017

Master the surgical techniques needed to treat large animals! A comprehensive resource, Farm Animal Surgery, 2nd Edition provides clear, step-by-step guidelines to performing common, field-tested surgical procedures. Coverage includes key information such as patient examination and preparation, diagnostic imaging, surgical procedures by body system, anesthesia concerns, fluid therapy, and postoperative management. Written by large animal specialists Susan Fubini and Norm Ducharme, along with a team of expert contributors, this resource is also an invaluable tool in preparing for ACVS or ECVS board exams. Consistent, logical organization makes it easy to find important information, with each section devoted to a single animal and chapters organized by body system. Step-by-step guidelines cover bovine, sheep and goat, and swine surgeries by body system. 775 full-color photographs and anatomic drawings illustrate common disorders, techniques, and equipment for large animal surgery. Up-to-date information on key surgical techniques keeps you aware of advances in the field and practical knowledge of animal care. 35 expert contributors provide a diverse, authoritative perspective on the many aspects of large animal surgery. References are provided for very specialized procedures. NEW surgical procedures are included for each species - many with illustrated, step-by-step instructions. NEW coverage of the physical examination includes cow, swine, goats, and sheep, to facilitate more accurate diagnoses of medical or surgical conditions.

October 2019: My Patients and Other Animals

Call Number: SF 613 F528 A3 2018

A moving memoir of a life spent in the company of animals--a veterinarian sheds light on the universal experience of loving, healing, and losing our beloved pets, and the many ways they change our lives.   The pursuit of a childhood dream has taken Suzy Fincham-Gray on a journey in veterinary medicine from pastoral farms on the English-Welsh border to emergency rooms in urban American animal hospitals, with thousands of stories collected along the way. In this unforgettable literary debut, she writes about some of the most emotionally challenging and rewarding cases of her career.             Like many physicians, Fincham-Gray tends to see her patients at often life-or-death moments. While dramatic, these stories expand into deeper explorations of our complex, profound relationships with the animals in our lives. She describes the satisfaction of diagnosing and treating difficult diseases and the universal experience of loving a pet, and--inevitably--raises questions about their end-of-life care. We meet Grayling, an Irish wolfhound in need of critical treatment; we learn about the fulfillment of caring for a chronically ill pet from the story of Zeke, a silver-brown tabby cat who likes to eat just a little too much; and we fall in love with Monty and Emma, Fincham-Gray's own adopted cat and dog, who change her life in joyful and unexpected ways. Fincham-Gray depicts the sleepless nights she spends waiting for her pager to call her to the clinic, the cutthroat competition among residents, and what it's really like to care for patients who can't advocate for themselves.             Warm and humorous, Suzy Fincham-Gray is a rare breed--a clinician with an intimate, elegant literary style. She writes with the same tenderness she brings to her patients, whose needs she must meet with her mind, her hands, and her heart.  "Suzy Fincham-Gray gives readers rare insight into the making of a compassionate doctor. Her passion for both science and the animals she cares for, combined with her eloquence as a writer, made me want Suzy as both my dogs' veterinarian and my own friend."--Teresa J. Rhyne, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Dog Lived (and So Will I)

September 2019: From Fearful to Fear Free

Call Number: SF 431 B43 2018

Almost every dog owner has a pet who suffers from fear, anxiety, and stress (FAS). They are the underlying cause of many concerning behaviors such as excessive barking, aggression, destructive behaviors, and house-soiling. They are also the source for deterioration of the human-animal bond, and can make a trip to the veterinarian, pet groomer, or boarding facility miserable for pet and owner alike. Left untreated, these negative experiences can lead to devastating consequences and permanent damage. Unfortunately, many well-meaning owners misinterpret or overlook the often subtle signs of emotional injury and turmoil, or think that the pet will simply "outgrow" it. This leads to unnecessary trauma and suffering. Common FAS triggers include: Trips to the veterinarian (even for routine services such as vaccinations and nail trims) Bath time, brushing, or cleaning ears. Loud noises; thunderstorms; fireworks; the vacuum cleaner; construction; gunshots; or even buzzers on appliances. Less-familiar people or animals encountered on walks or near the home. Being left alone during work hours or even for short errands. Travel, including car rides. Finally, there's help. From Fearful to Fear Free is based on the groundbreaking Fear Free program embraced by tens of thousands of veterinary healthcare professionals and hundreds of thousands of pet owners (fearfreepets.com and fearfreehappyhomes.com). This is the first and most authoritative book on the subject of reducing FAS and increasing "happy and calm" in dogs. Since pets communicate nonverbally, this book will help you recognize if your pet is suffering from FAS. By knowing your dog's body language, vocalizations, and changes in normal habits, you can make an accurate diagnosis and take action to prevent triggers or treat the fallout if they do happen. You'll learn: The most effective prescription sedatives for keeping dogs calm and happy during thunderstorms, fireworks, and other stressful events. The positive steps you can take to keep your pet occupied, calm, and content while you're away at work or play. Simple, practical tactics for helping your dog learn to love going to the veterinarian's office--literally pulling you into the practice instead of avoiding it! How to easily groom your dog and give him medication. Tips to tame the chaos when guests arrive in your home or when your dog encounters other dogs and people on walks. Ways to tackle some of the common behavior issues that often have a root cause of FAS, while also improving your communication and bond with your pet. The three veterinary coauthors and one highly respected pet trainer have a combined 88 years of experience in the trenches of veterinary medicine, with specialties in behavior and training. By using their cutting-edge techniques, you'll have pets that are happier, healthier and live a longer, fuller life.

August 2019: BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Shelter Medicine

Call Number: SF 991 B73 2018

This brand new manual provides a practical guide on how to deal with various clinical situations that arise when working with cats and dogs in a shelter environment. The first part of the manual describes the principles of shelter medicine and population health. The second part covers the prevention, management and control of disease in a shelter environment. The final part provides information on working with people in the shelter environment.

July 2019: The Complete Alpaca Book

Call Number: SF 401 A4 H65 2006

Books > Professional & Technical > Agriculture & farming
Books > Professional & Technical > Agriculture & farming > Animal husbandry
Books > Professional & Technical > Agriculture & farming > Animal husbandry > General

June 2019: Equine Infectious Diseases

Call Number: SF 951 E55 2014

Ideal for both practitioners and students, this comprehensive resource covers the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of infectious disease in horses. Organized by infectious agent - virus, bacterial and rickettsial, protazoal, and fungal - it includes complete coverage of the individual diseases caused by each type of agent. A section on clinical problems examines conditions such as ocular infections, CNS infections, and skin infections. It also addresses the importance of preventing and controlling infectious disease outbreaks with coverage of epidemiology, biosecurity, antimicrobial therapy, and recognizing foreign equine diseases. Public health considerations presented in nearly every chapter discuss zoonotic disease potential and precautions, as well as other public health concerns. Appendix of infectious disease rule-outs for medical problems shows which symptoms may indicate specific infectious diseases with cross-references to the chapters in which they are discussed. Antimicrobial drug formulary appendix provides information on adjusting dosages on the basis of clinical and toxicologic data. Appendix for vaccination guidelines for horses in North America helps horse traders understand the necessary steps to avoid hefty fines and even license suspensions for non-compliance. The most up-to-date immunization recommendations for horses in North America, organized by foals/weanlings, yearlings, performance horses, pleasure horses, and broodmares. Easy access to references on PubMed links you to the original abstracts, with content updates to keep you aware of new infectious diseases and their impact on people and animals, as well as stunning downloadable images. Full-color photos and illustrations provide clear, accurate representations of clinical appearances of infectious diseases. NEW! The most up-to-date coverage of equine piroplasmosis reflects what experts have learned as more outbreaks of this tick-borne disease have occurred in the US. NEW! Content on EHV-1 keeps you current on the diagnosis and treatment of this potentially serious disease in horses. NEW! Information on how global climate changes are creating more diseases in horses keeps you alert to the possibilities of new and emerging diseases worldwide. NEW! Expanded coverage of biosecurity on farms and in veterinary practices helps you develop an effective biosecurity program and emphasizes how to isolate or eliminate the source of infectious agents. NEW! Additional clinical algorithms offer detailed prevention strategies in addition to diagnostic and therapeutic guidelines. NEW! New appendix of product and diagnostic test kit manufacturers on the companion website, gives you access to the most current products and advances available in equine medicine.

May 2019: Veterinary Medical Terminology Guide and Workbook

Call Number: eBook

Designed to be both comprehensive and user-friendly, the text offers easy-to-understand explanations of medical terminology and contains helpful learning features such as tips, case studies, and review questions.  Describes medical terms with easy-to-understand explanations and phonetic spellings Offers an updated edition of this practical guide to veterinary medical terminology Contains real-world case studies, word lists, and review questions that are designed to promote active learning Includes new chapters on medical reports and case studies and large animals, as well as helpful memorization features Provides access to a companion website with images, audio clips, flash cards, and other helpful learning tools  

Browse the Shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

QH Biology
QL Zoology
SF Animal Culture
SF 277 - 360.4 Horses
SF 411 - 458 Pets (dogs, cats, rabbits, hares, fishes, ...)
SF 600 - 1100 Veterinary Medicine

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access