Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary Technical Assistant: Books

Learn about veterinary equipment, instrumentation, patient preparation, and animal handling skills.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Medical Mathematics and Dosage Calculations for Veterinary Technicians

Call Number: eBook

This user-friendly guide to medical mathematics helps veterinary technician students develop the math skills required before going into the practice setting.  New workbook format allows readers to practice problems right inside the book Covers math fundamentals, metric and non-metric conversions, dosing and concentration, IV drug infusion, prescriptions, and doctors' orders Offers step-by-step instructions for performing calculations Newly expanded to include calculation of constant rate infusions, dilutions, compounding, and anesthesia applications Features a full answer key and images from the book in PowerPoint for instructors on a companion website  

March 2020: Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians

Call Number: eBook

"This very practical book tells you all you need to know in order to be as efficient as possible in your clinic's lab." Reviewed by Fabienne Dethioux on behalf of Vet Nurses Today, March 2015 Comprehensive coverage gives you a solid foundation in the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform related tests. Step-by-step procedure boxes offer quick access to the skills you must perform during your educational program, as well as procedures that are commonly performed by vet techs in private practice. Provides the latest information needed to successfully perform a broad spectrum of laboratory tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. Completely updated content throughout reflects the latest advances in veterinary clinical laboratory procedures for improved patient service and higher practice revenue. A comprehensive glossary of terms at the end of the text offers accurate, concise definitions and phonetic pronunciation guides. NEW! Streamlined chapters are shorter and easier to digest with expanded coverage of essential material to prepare you for real-life laboratory work. NEW! Full-color photos bring concepts to life, sequentially arranged to illustrate step-by-step procedures for all commonly performed diagnostic tests in the clinical laboratory. NEW! Companion Lab Manual (sold separately) includes multiple-choice questions, fill-in-the-blank exercises, photo quizzes, labeling exercises, crossword puzzles, and other activities to help you master and apply key concepts and procedures in clinical situations. NEW! Special emphasis on the significance of abnormal results of key lab tests, zoonoses, and hematology. NEW! Vet Tech Threads provide you with introductions, suggested readings, boxed technician notes, learning objectives, chapter outlines, key terms, and a glossary for easy navigation through chapters and more focused learning.

March 2020: Sit. Stand. Go!

Call Number: eBook

Help Your Dog Overcome Mobility Challenges - Starting Today For some dogs, a reduction in physical ability happens quickly. For others, it occurs at birth or arrives with advanced age. Yet with the right help and support, your dog can still enjoy a full life and his canine independence. Sit. Stand. Go How to help your dog overcome mobility challenges provides the answers you need to jumpstart your dog's mental and physical activity and restore the joy in his life. In this helpful book written for dog owners, you'll discover how to: pay attention to changes in your dog, recognize challenges created by those changes and accommodate your dog's needs to better move through his world Mobility is crucial for any dog. It allows your pet to run, jump and play, but also to eat, groom himself and eliminate unaided. You want your dog to have a full and active life, even if right now he's not able to do all the things you both would like him to. Sit. Stand. Go gives you all the practical tools you need to help you and your dog overcome his mobility challenges and improve your dog's quality of life. Sit. Stand. Go combines the appealing writing style and attention to detail of Patricia McConnell's The Other End of the Leash with the practical knowledge of From Fearful to Fear Free: A Positive Program to Free Your Dog from Anxiety, Fears, and Phobias by Dr. Marty Becker. In Sit. Stand. Go author Kate Titus calls on her years of experience working with mobility-challenged dogs to show you how to look at your dog with a fresh perspective, record your observations and present them in a meaningful way to your veterinary team. With Kate's genuine love for dogs evident on every page, she'll teach you how to: recognize changes in your dog's mobility, provide assistance or assistive equipment without triggering your dog's stubborn streak, capture and present important information about your dog's current mobility and changes you've seen since your last veterinary visit, recognize and remove obstacles inside your home, in outdoor spaces, and in loading, unloading and riding in vehicles. Kate also provides the pep talk you need when working with and loving a mobility-challenged dog. Your dog's quality of life is important. Sit. Stand. Go is applicable to dogs of all types, including smaller dogs like Yorkshire Terriers and Beagles, and larger dogs like Labrador Retrievers and German Shepherds.

February 2020: Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians

Call Number: SF 745 H66 2016

Master the role of the veterinary technician in large animal care! Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 3rd Edition helps you learn to set up, assist, and follow through on medical procedures and treatment regimens for domestic large animals. A comprehensive guide, this book not only defines the veterinary technician's responsibilities in daily livestock care and hospital management, but includes separate sections on horses, cattle, sheep and goats, pigs, and llamas and alpacas, covering husbandry, clinical procedures, surgical procedures, and common diseases for each. This edition adds new chapters on livestock nutrition and diagnostic imaging. Written by noted veterinary technician educator Kristin Holtgrew-Bohling, this book is useful in preparing for certification exams and everyday practice. A practical approach makes this text useful in classes and in clinical situations, so veterinary technicians, acting under instructions of veterinarians, can plan and follow through on procedures and treatment regimens for large animals. A focus on the veterinary technician's responsibilities explains why and how a procedure is performed, and the roles that you fill in preparing for, assisting in, and following up the procedure. Full-color photographs and line drawings show step-by-step procedures in areas such as restraint, bandaging, physical examination techniques, and diagnostic procedures.  Coverage of the essential large animal-related tasks in the CVTEA Manual of Accreditation for Veterinary Technology Programs prepares you to pass the Veterinary Technology National Exam. Coverage of husbandry and breeds demonstrates how day-to-day housing and feeding affect the care of many large animal diseases, and also helps you provide quality client education. A section on the livestock industry provides comprehensive coverage of safety and handling, reproduction, and nutrition, so you can better understand the practices, procedures, and decisions in large animal veterinary medicine. A section on llamas and alpacas helps you understand the health and maintenance of these increasingly popular domestic animals - in the U.S., there are more than 12,000 alpaca herds and 25,000 llama owners. Proper medical terminology is included in a comprehensive glossary, helping you communicate effectively with clients and with other professionals. Learning features enhance critical thinking and decision making with case studies, clinical applications, key terms, chapter outlines, learning objectives, and Technician Notes. NEW livestock Nutrition and Diagnostic Imaging chapters provide a basic understanding of these subjects so you can perform history taking, correctly calculate rations for large animals, and fulfill your role in large animal diagnostic imaging. NEW Appendix of Vitals and Terminology provides a quick, at-a-glance reference for critical information. NEW! Supplemental chapters on the Evolve companion website cover the husbandry, clinical procedures, surgical procedures, and common diseases of poultry.

January 2020: Advocates for Animals: an inside look at the extraordinary efforts to end animal suffering

Call Number: HV 4764 G52 2017

With over 65 percent of households having a pet, and Americans spending over $60 billion on them each year, it's a proven statistic that Americans love animals. Public opinions consistently show we favor compassion for all animals. Animal welfare, rights, and protection is one of the most popular issue areas to which individual donors give, and is an area in which people working with rescue and nonprofit organizations are extremely passionate. In Advocates for Animals, Lori Girshick not only provides a better understanding of the laws surrounding animal rights but looks at the nonprofit organizations and people who are making a huge difference in today's growing animal protection community. These volunteers and organizations fill the gap in what laws, policies, practices, and services do not address for animal rights/protection. Through the personal reflections of 204 individuals who volunteer or work with animals in a wide range of circumstances we learn about their paths to involvement, what they do, what they hope to achieve, and how this has impacted their lives. Many experts speak of the importance of protecting the rights of animals, and without human support, many animals face abuse, neglect, and suffering. Advocates for Animals invites you to join these efforts, enriching your own lives and living compassion in action toward animals.

December 2019: Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats

Call Number: eBook

Breed Predispositions to Disease in Dogs and Cats, Third Edition provides a comprehensive exploration of current knowledge of breed predispositions based on rigorous examination of primary research.  Incorporates the latest research, new testing methods, and newly-discovered predispositions and diseases Provides expanded information on genetics, epidemiology, and longevity Includes key characteristics of diseases, including pathogenesis, genetics, risks, and common presentations Indexes dogs and cats by breed, with listings of common inherited and predisposed disorders organized by body system Includes absolute and relative frequency/occurrence data for conditions, along with references to further information  

November 2019: Examination and Treatment Methods in Dogs and Cats

Call Number: eBook

This is an essential pocket-sized reference for the busy veterinary practitioner. It is organized in a quick look-up format with step-by-step diagrams and punchy, concise text, ideal for any clinical environment. Each entry covers a standard procedure that is carried out in everyday small animal practice, whether that is restraining patients, taking a blood or tissue sample, performing an endoscopy, taking an X-ray, or carrying out a biopsy. This book provides a step-by-step pictorial guide on how to do so, accompanied by easy to read text which is ideal for quick access before a procedure or during a consult. The contents are organized by body system, and include examination methods in: cardiology, respiratory medicine, gastrointestinal medicine, urology, gynaecology, andrology, orthopedics, neurology, ophthalmology, otology, and dermatology. The book also includes extensive sections on giving injections, catheter use, transfusions, inhalation techniques, parenteral nutrition, drainage, flushes and bandaging. Covering a vast array of standard veterinary procedures, this is an ideal support guide from an established veterinarian, with extensive experience in veterinary practice. It is also an invaluable resource for the veterinary practitioner and veterinary student. Dr. Christian Schrey, A.A., B.A., B.S., M.S., MRCVS, is a veterinarian and author of several books. He studied in the UK, USA and Germany. He runs seminars on emergency medicine and surgery in Berlin, where he also established a specialist therapy center for oncology in dogs and cats in 2005. [Subject: Veterinary Medicine, Animal Care]

October 2019: My Patients and Other Animals

Call Number: SF 613 F528 A3 2018

A moving memoir of a life spent in the company of animals--a veterinarian sheds light on the universal experience of loving, healing, and losing our beloved pets, and the many ways they change our lives.   The pursuit of a childhood dream has taken Suzy Fincham-Gray on a journey in veterinary medicine from pastoral farms on the English-Welsh border to emergency rooms in urban American animal hospitals, with thousands of stories collected along the way. In this unforgettable literary debut, she writes about some of the most emotionally challenging and rewarding cases of her career.             Like many physicians, Fincham-Gray tends to see her patients at often life-or-death moments. While dramatic, these stories expand into deeper explorations of our complex, profound relationships with the animals in our lives. She describes the satisfaction of diagnosing and treating difficult diseases and the universal experience of loving a pet, and--inevitably--raises questions about their end-of-life care. We meet Grayling, an Irish wolfhound in need of critical treatment; we learn about the fulfillment of caring for a chronically ill pet from the story of Zeke, a silver-brown tabby cat who likes to eat just a little too much; and we fall in love with Monty and Emma, Fincham-Gray's own adopted cat and dog, who change her life in joyful and unexpected ways. Fincham-Gray depicts the sleepless nights she spends waiting for her pager to call her to the clinic, the cutthroat competition among residents, and what it's really like to care for patients who can't advocate for themselves.             Warm and humorous, Suzy Fincham-Gray is a rare breed--a clinician with an intimate, elegant literary style. She writes with the same tenderness she brings to her patients, whose needs she must meet with her mind, her hands, and her heart.  "Suzy Fincham-Gray gives readers rare insight into the making of a compassionate doctor. Her passion for both science and the animals she cares for, combined with her eloquence as a writer, made me want Suzy as both my dogs' veterinarian and my own friend."--Teresa J. Rhyne, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Dog Lived (and So Will I)

September 2019: Equine Emergency and Critical Care Medicine

Call Number: SF 51 E546 2015

Early recognition of problems by owners, appropriate first aid, and timely referral by field veterinarians improve the chance of survival for horses requiring emergency management and critical care. With a view toward improving patient outcome, Equine Emergency and Critical Care Medicine is written by a team of enthusiastic equine specialists who explore a host of conditions that the equine veterinarian will encounter. Areas covered include: Digestive, musculoskeletal, cardiovascular, respiratory, urogenital, and nervous systems Neonatal diseases Lacerations, wounds, and skin diseases requiring emergency care Emergency ophthalmological problems Toxicology Antimicrobial drugs and nutritional support Fluid, inotrope, and vasopressor therapy Sedation and analgesia Systemic inflammatory response The postoperative colic patient Critical care of the pregnant mare and neonate The recumbent horse For each disease or condition, the book includes an overview, key points, etiology/pathogenesis, clinical features, differential diagnosis, diagnosis, and management/treatment. It also provides step-by-step instructions on frequently performed procedures for the emergency/critical care patient. The text features a concise, bullet-point style to facilitate quick assimilation, along with color photos and useful charts and diagrams. Equine veterinarians will find this book an essential addition to their libraries.

August 2019: The Snow Leopard Project

Call Number: QH 76.5 .A3 D44 2019

Looks at how an international group is working to preserve Afghanistan's wildlife in the wake of years of war, describing how they have risked their safety to create a national park, perform wildlife surveys, and fight poaching.

July 2019: From Fearful to Fear Free

Call Number: SF 431 B43 2018

Almost every dog owner has a pet who suffers from fear, anxiety, and stress (FAS). They are the underlying cause of many concerning behaviors such as excessive barking, aggression, destructive behaviors, and house-soiling. They are also the source for deterioration of the human-animal bond, and can make a trip to the veterinarian, pet groomer, or boarding facility miserable for pet and owner alike. Left untreated, these negative experiences can lead to devastating consequences and permanent damage. Unfortunately, many well-meaning owners misinterpret or overlook the often subtle signs of emotional injury and turmoil, or think that the pet will simply "outgrow" it. This leads to unnecessary trauma and suffering. Common FAS triggers include: Trips to the veterinarian (even for routine services such as vaccinations and nail trims) Bath time, brushing, or cleaning ears. Loud noises; thunderstorms; fireworks; the vacuum cleaner; construction; gunshots; or even buzzers on appliances. Less-familiar people or animals encountered on walks or near the home. Being left alone during work hours or even for short errands. Travel, including car rides. Finally, there's help. From Fearful to Fear Free is based on the groundbreaking Fear Free program embraced by tens of thousands of veterinary healthcare professionals and hundreds of thousands of pet owners (fearfreepets.com and fearfreehappyhomes.com). This is the first and most authoritative book on the subject of reducing FAS and increasing "happy and calm" in dogs. Since pets communicate nonverbally, this book will help you recognize if your pet is suffering from FAS. By knowing your dog's body language, vocalizations, and changes in normal habits, you can make an accurate diagnosis and take action to prevent triggers or treat the fallout if they do happen. You'll learn: The most effective prescription sedatives for keeping dogs calm and happy during thunderstorms, fireworks, and other stressful events. The positive steps you can take to keep your pet occupied, calm, and content while you're away at work or play. Simple, practical tactics for helping your dog learn to love going to the veterinarian's office--literally pulling you into the practice instead of avoiding it! How to easily groom your dog and give him medication. Tips to tame the chaos when guests arrive in your home or when your dog encounters other dogs and people on walks. Ways to tackle some of the common behavior issues that often have a root cause of FAS, while also improving your communication and bond with your pet. The three veterinary coauthors and one highly respected pet trainer have a combined 88 years of experience in the trenches of veterinary medicine, with specialties in behavior and training. By using their cutting-edge techniques, you'll have pets that are happier, healthier and live a longer, fuller life.

June 2019: Equine Internal Medicine

Call Number: SF 951 E68 2018

Confidently diagnose, treat, and manage patient conditions with the only comprehensive book on the market devoted solely to equine internal medicine. Filled with fully updated content on principles of treatment and contributions from internationally known equine experts, Equine Internal Medicine, 4th Edition focuses on the basic pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie the development of various equine diseases. A problem-based approach outlines how to apply the latest clinical evidence directly to the conditions you will encounter in practice. A new companion website with over 120 video clips presents diseases and disorders that cannot be explained as well through words Updated information throughout, including the most recent drug information. Current and well-referenced content on equine diseases and treatment techniques cites the latest books and journals. Internationally known equine experts present information on problems affecting horses throughout the world - and provide contributions that enable practitioners and students to approach disease and treatment of equine patients with more authority and understanding. User-friendly exterior and interior design makes the book appealing to both the equine internal medicine practitioner and the veterinary student. Easy-to-find information facilitates a more thorough understanding with minimal frustration. Organized and consistent coverage among chapters allows you to easily find information on a specific topic. NEW! Fully updated and revised sections on disorders and principles of treatment. NEW! Problem-based approach outlines how to apply the latest clinical evidence directly to the conditions you will encounter in practice. NEW! Pathophysiology is emphasized throughout, providing a sound basis for discussions of the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis that follow. NEW! Body systems chapters begin with a thorough discussion of the diagnostic method appropriate to the system, including physical examination, clinical pathology, radiography, endoscopy, and ultrasonography. NEW and UNIQUE! Companion website includes more than 120 video clips linked to content from chapters on cardiovascular and neurologic system disorders. NEW! Flow charts, diagrams, and algorithms clarify complex material.

May 2019: Does It Fart?

Call Number: QL 780 C37 2018

"The book we didn't realize we needed."---Chicago Reader Dogs do it. Millipedes do it. Dinosaurs did it. You do it. I do it. Octopuses don't (and nor do octopi). Spiders might do it: more research is needed. Birds don't do it, but they could if they wanted to. Herrings do it to communicate with each other. In 2017 zoologist Dani Rabaiotti's teenage brother asked her a most teenaged question: Do snakes fart? Stumped, Rabaiotti turned to Twitter. The internet did not disappoint. Her innocent question spawned the hashtag #doesitfart and it spread like a noxious gas. Dozens of noted experts began weighing in on which animals do and don't fart, and if they do, how much, how often, what it's made of, what it smells like, and why. Clearly, the public demands more information on animal farts. Does it Fart? fills that void: a fully authoritative, fully illustrated guide to animal flatulence, covering the habits of 80 animals in more detail than you ever knew you needed. What do hyena farts smell especially bad? What is a fossa, and does it fart? Why do clams vomit but not fart? And what is a fart, really? Pairing hilarious illustrations with surprisingly detailed scientific explanations, Does it Fart? will allow you to shift the blame onto all kinds of unlikely animals for years to come.

Browse the Shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to land agent topics.

QH Biology
QL Zoology
SF Animal Culture
SF 277 - 360.4 Horses
SF 411 - 458 Pets (dogs, cats, rabbits, hares, fishes, ...)
SF 600 - 1100 Veterinary Medicine

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access