Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welding: Books

Welders join or sever metals in beams, girders, vessels, piping and other metal components used in construction and manufacturing.

Book of the Month

April 2020: Metals and How to Weld Them

Metals and How to Weld Them is a standard reference in the field and provides the foundation of modern welding methods. This practical guide provides everything you need to get started welding, including information on preheating, heat treating, mechanical properties of metals, filler material selection, crystallography, and welding process options.

March 2020: Powder Metallurgy of Copper Matrix Composite

Call Number: eBook

This book discusses the development of spot welding electrode and its fabrication using Cu-WC through a powder metallurgy route. This book consists of dispersed strengthening material and its strengthening mechanisms; studies on spot welding performance of copper-tungsten carbide composite and RWMA class II Cu-Cr electrodes; several methods used for production of MMC reinforced with particulate; the densification behavior of dispersion strengthening copper composite reinforced with high-grade tungsten carbide during cold pressing and sintering; and the sensification and characterization of nanostructured Cu-NbC composite synthesized by in-situ reaction of niobium and graphite powders.

February 2020: Learn to Weld

Call Number: TK 4660 C517 2014

Master MIG welding and the metal fabrication techniques you need to repair, create, and duplicate projects in your home welding studio. Learn to Weld starts with the basics: setting up your studio, the right safety gear and safety procedures, and the equipment and materials you will need to begin with welding. With the help of step-by-step metalworking photos and tutorials, you will learn detailed techniques for cutting and grinding, and for joinery using a MIG welder. Practice the techniques and projects, and you'll soon be able to repair, create, and duplicate metal fabrication projects in your own welding studio. Best of all, you will have both the fundamental skills and the confidence you need to create whatever is in your imagination. With Learn to Weld you'll be equipped to conquer a world of welding projects.

January 2020: Joining: Understanding the Basics

Call Number: eBook

Extending ASM's Understanding the Basics series into fabrication technologies, this book is an introduction to the most important industrial joining methods: welding, brazing, soldering, fastening, and adhesive bonding. It addresses metallurgical issues that must be understood during welding, and provides an overview of issues to consider when joining systems of materials that are the same, similar, or different.

December 2019: Handbook of Laser Welding Technologies

Call Number: eBook

Laser welding is a rapidly developing and versatile technology which has found increasing applications in industry and manufacturing. It allows the precision welding of small and hard-to-reach areas, and is particularly suitable for operation under computer or robotic control. The Handbook of laser welding technologies reviews the latest developments in the field and how they can be used across a variety of applications. Part one provides an introduction to the fundamentals of laser welding before moving on to explore developments in established technologies including CO2 laser welding, disk laser welding and laser micro welding technology. Part two highlights laser welding technologies for various materials including aluminium and titanium alloys, plastics and glass. Part three focuses on developments in emerging laser welding technologies with chapters on the applications of robotics in laser welding and developments in the modelling and simulation of laser and hybrid laser welding. Finally, part four explores the applications of laser welding in the automotive, railway and shipbuilding industries. The Handbook of laser welding technologies is a technical resource for researchers and engineers using laser welding technologies, professionals requiring an understanding of laser welding techniques and academics interested in the field. Provides an introduction to the fundamentals of laser welding including characteristics, welding defects and evolution of laser welding Discusses developments in a number of techniques including disk, conduction and laser micro welding Focusses on technologies for particular materials such as light metal alloys, plastics and glass

November 2019: Advances in Welding Technologies for Process Development

Call Number: eBook

Within manufacturing, welding is by far the most widely used fabrication method used for production, leading to a rise in research and development activities pertaining to the welding and joining of different, similar, and dissimilar combinations of the metals. This book addresses recent advances in various welding processes across the domain, including arc welding and solid-state welding process, as well as experimental processes. The content is structured to update readers about the working principle, predicaments in existing process, innovations to overcome these problems, and direct industrial and practical applications. Key Features: Describes recent developments in welding technology, engineering, and science Discusses advanced computational techniques for procedure development Reviews recent trends of implementing DOE and meta-heuristics optimization techniques for setting accurate parameters Addresses related theoretical, practical, and industrial aspects Includes all the aspects of welding, such as arc welding, solid state welding, and weld overlay plementing DOE and meta-heuristics optimization techniques for setting accurate parameters Addresses related theoretical, practical, and industrial aspects Includes all the aspects of welding, such as arc welding, solid state welding, and weld overlay

October 2019: Basic Welding for Farm and Ranch

Call Number: eBook

Farmers, ranchers, and homesteaders who know how to weld can repair and even fabricate some equipment on their own, saving both time and money. Basic Welding for Farm and Ranch introduces this crucial skill and covers the most popular techniques used by the home hobbyist and DIY devotee, with chapters and detailed illustrations dedicated to oxyacetylene welding (or gas welding), stick welding, MIG, and arc welding, as well as brazing and soldering. Along with guidance on equipment selection and use, and safety precautions, this book offers 12 projects and repairs commonly faced on the small farm or homestead, with step-by-step photography guiding readers through building a wall-mount hay feeder, repairing a garden rake, making horseshoe hooks, and more. This publication conforms to the EPUB Accessibility specification at WCAG 2.0 Level AA.  

September 2019: Brazing and Soldering

Call Number: eBook

The topics addressed in this proceedings volume include active brazing (an area of increasing R&D interest); conventional brazing and soldering alloys; wetting and fundamental properties studies; modeling and mechanical analysis and /or characterization; and process technology. All of the papers in this volume have been editorially reviewed. Both the hardcopy and CD contain an author's index for easy reference, and the CD volume is fully searchable by keyword.

August 2019: Corrosion of Weldments

Call Number: eBook

Corrosion failures of industrial components are commonly associated with welding. The reasons are many and varied. For example, welding may reduce the resistance to corrosion and environmentally assisted cracking by altering composition and microstructure, modifying mechanical properties, introducing residual stress, and creating physical defects. This book details the many forms of weld corrosion and the methods used to minimize weld corrosion. Chapters on specific alloys groups--carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, high-nickel alloys, and nonferrous alloys--describe both general welding characteristics and the metallurgical factors that influence corrosion behavior. Corrosion problems associated with dissimilar metal weldments are also examined. Case histories document corrosion problems unique to specific industries including oil and gas, chemical processing, pulp and paper, and electric power. Special challenges caused by high-temperature environments are discussed. Commonly used methods to monitor weld corrosion and test methods for evaluation of intergranular, pitting, crevice, stress-corrosion cracking, and other forms of corrosion are also reviewed.

July 2019: Welding Engineering

Call Number: eBook
Provides an introduction to all of the important topics in welding engineering. It covers a broad range of subjects and presents each topic in a relatively simple, easy to understand manner, with emphasis on the fundamental engineering principles. *          Comprehensive coverage of all welding engineering topics *          Presented in a simple, easy to understand format *          Emphasises concepts and fundamental principles

June 2019: Metal: forming, forging, and welding techniques

Call Number: TT 211 A74 2006

Metal is an unusually satisfying medium for many artists, but working in metal requires a considerable amount of specialized knowledge and practical skill. This book teaches those skills. It makes a fine textbook for apprentice metalworking artists, presenting a basic overview of the science of metallurgy, then discussing needed tools, safety equipment, and metalworking methods. Detailed chapters cover such techniques as welding, shaping, and cutting metals as a means of fashioning art objects and practical items. A variety of beautiful and useful objects are shown as they are being made in a series of step-by-step photos. Objects include weather vanes, wrought-iron decorative fixtures for inside and outside the home, trays, tables, and imaginative sculptures. Students are instructed in how to work with iron, aluminum, copper, zinc, and several other metals. The book is filled with hundreds of color illustrations.

May 2019: Metal Fabrication Technology for Agriculture

Call Number: TS 227 J44 2011

METAL FABRICATION TECHNOLOGY FOR AGRICULTURE, 2E provides students with an easy-to-understand, safety-conscious introduction to agricultural welding processes and techniques. Each section of this full-color book begins by introducing students to equipment and materials used in agricultural welding and includes complete setup instructions. The subsequent chapters in each section allow students to learn individual welding techniques in various applications and positions. METAL FABRICATION TECHNOLOGY FOR AGRICULTURE, 2E provides extensive coverage of brazing and specialized nonmetallic fabrication, designed to lead students step-by-step in developing the skills necessary for welding all types of agricultural machinery. Each chapter includes close up shots of actual welds and learning aids that have been proven to be effective, making this how-to and reference manual a key resource for students participating in agriculture education programs throughout the country.

Browse the shelves

Call numbers help you find the areas of the library shelves relevant to welding topics.

TS 226-228.89 Welding 

Ask library staff if you're not sure where to find a section.

Featured Books

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access