Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Help: Types of Resources

Types of Information Resources

Type Information Use Portal

Search for books, ebooks and media that are in the Olds College collection or other libraries across Alberta.

  • when looking for lots of information on a topic
  • to put your topic in context with other important issues
  • to find historical information
  • to find summaries of research to support an argument

Click Here

Search ALL Olds College library resources, including: books, articles and much more!
  • to find out what items the library owns on your topic
  • to find where a specific item is located in the library

Click Here

TLCI library team has created Research Guides, an online collection of resources for each program. These are starting points for students who may not be aware of what the library offers or where, to begin with, their research.
  • A Starting point for research
  • Frequently updated articles
  • Books of the month
  • Videos related to your program
  • Collection of websites and resoures

Click Here

A database contains citations of articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers. They may also contain citations to podcasts, blogs, videos, and other media types. Some databases contain abstracts or brief summaries of the articles, while other databases contain complete, full-text articles.
  • when you want to find articles on your topic in magazines, journals or newspapers

Click Here

A magazine is a collection of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually, these articles are written by journalists or scholars and are geared toward the average adult. Magazines may cover very "serious" material, but to find consistent scholarly information, you should use journals.

A journal is a collection of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted. Articles in journals can cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research.

 

  • to find information or opinions about popular culture
  • to find up-to-date information about current events
  • to find general articles for people who are not necessarily specialists about the topic
  • when doing scholarly research
  • to find out what has been studied on your topic
  • to find bibliographies that point to other relevant research

Click Here

The Web allows you to access most types of information on the Internet through a browser. One of the main features of the Web is the ability to quickly link to other related information. The Web contains information beyond plain text, including sounds, images, and video.

The important thing to do when using information on the Internet is to know how to evaluate it!

  • to find current information
  • to find information about companies
  • to find information from all levels of government - federal to local
  • to find both expert and popular opinions
  • to find information about hobbies and personal interests

Click Here