Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Items: January

New books to our library, be the first to check them out!

January Program Related Books

Knock 'em Dead Job Interview

Call Number: HF 5549.5 I6 Y373 2013

To amaze and impress job interviewers, you need the formulas for answering tough questions. With these handy flash cards, career wizard Martin Yate shows you how to display those essential transferable skills, behaviours, and values that "every" employer wants. When you've mastered these cards you'll not only get the job; you'll be on the road to long-term career success. 

Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

Call Number: BF 697.5 S46 B7 1994

In this penetrating and provocative book, Dr Nathaniel Branden demonstrates the importance of self-esteem in our quest for psychological health, personal achievment, and positive relationships.Six action-based practices for daily living, simple but powerful exercises for increasing personal awareness and effectiveness. It explores the importance of self-esteem in the workplace, parenting, education, psychotherapy and society.Immense in scope and vision, filled with brilliant insights into human nature, this is the ultimate work on the psychology of self-esteem.

Slow Media

Call Number: HM 1206 R376 2018

Today we recognize that we have a different relationship to media technology - and to information more broadly - than we had even five years ago. We are connected to the news media, to our jobs, and to each other, 24 hours a day. But many people have found their mediated lives to be too fast,too digital, too disposable, and too distracted. This group - which includes many technologists and young people - believes that current practices of digital media production and consumption are unsustainable, and works to promote alternate ways of living.Until recently, sustainable media practices have been mostly overlooked, or thought of as a counterculture. But, as Jennifer Rauch argues in this book, the concept of sustainable media has taken hold and continues to gain momentum. Slow media is not merely a lifestyle choice, she argues, but haspotentially great implications for our communities and for the natural world....

January Interesting Reads

American Dirt

Call Number: FIC CUM OHS

Lydia Quixano Perez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable. Even though she knows they'll never sell, Lydia stocks some of her all-time favorite books in her store. And then one day a man enters the shop to browse and comes up to the register with four books he would like to buy-two of them her favorites. Javier is erudite. He is charming. And, unbeknownst to Lydia, he is the jefe of the newest drug cartel that has gruesomely taken over the city....

Finding Balance

Call Number: FIC GAR OHS

Jase Ellison doesn't remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when he was three years old. His cancer diagnosis only enters his mind twice a year: once at his yearly checkup at the oncology clinic and one when he attends Camp Chemo in the summer. No one in his "real" life knows about his past, especially his friends at Atlanta West Prep.  Mari Manos has never been able to hide her cancer survivorship. She wakes every morning, grabs her pink forearm clip crutches, and starts her day. Mari loves Camp Chemo--where she's developed a healthy crush...

Just Breathe

Call Number: FIC MCG OHS

From the critically acclaimed author of Say What You Will and A Step Toward Falling comes a deeply emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart and The Fault in Our Stars. David Scheinman is the popular president of his senior class, battling cystic fibrosis. Jamie Turner is a quiet sophomore, struggling with depression. The pair soon realizes that they're able to be more themselves with each other than they can be with anyone else, and their unlikely friendship starts to turn into something so much more. But neither Jamie nor David can bring themselves to reveal the secrets that weigh most heavily on their hearts--and their time for honesty may be running out.

The Grace Year

Call Number: FIC LIG OHS

No one speaks of the grace year. It's forbidden. In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That's why they're banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive. Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life--a society that doesn't pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it's not just the brutal elements they must fear. It's not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other....

Dog Driven

Call Number: FIC JOH OHS

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness--a race she doesn't know if she can even see to run.    Winning would mean getting her disease--and her sister's--national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights....

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access