Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Items: July

New books to our library, be the first to check them out!

New Program Related Books

The Ecological Landscape Professional

Call Number: SB 475.9 E99 O35 2019

Create a meaningful career restoring the planet. Ecological landscaping provides implementable solutions to many of the world's problems including viable new career paths for a growing regenerative economy. This book includes FREE Online Trainings in Professional Ecological Design. Go Here to Register: https: //erikohlsen.com/ecological-landscape-professional-trainings/ (Copy & Paste in your browser) Integrating the principles of permaculture with the practices of professional landscape design provides a powerful strategy to restore the planet and create a regenerative economy simultaneously...

New Interesting Reads

Three Flames

"Lightman's best book sinceEinstein's Dreams . . . a piercing story of social dissolution in damaged Cambodia . . . an important story of global women's rights." --Annie Proulx The stories of one Cambodian family are intricately braided together in Alan Lightman's first work of fiction in seven years. Three Flames portrays the struggles of a Cambodian farming family against the extreme patriarchal attitudes of their society and a cruel and dictatorial father, set in a rural community that is slowly being exposed to the modern world and its values. Ryna is a mother fighting against memories of her father's death at the hands of the Khmer Rouge and her powerful desire for revenge. Daughter Nita is married off at sixteen to a wandering husband, while her sister Thida is sent to the city to work in thefactories to settle their father's gambling debt. Kamal, the only son, dreams of marrying the most beautiful girl in the village and escaping the life of a farmer. Yet it will be up to Sreypov, the youngest, to bravely challenge her father and strive for a better future. Three Flames is a vivid story of one family's yearning for freedom and of a young girl's courage to face down tradition. "Lyrical and poignant, Three Flames weaves the stories of three generations of a poor, Cambodian farming family as they struggle to survive and hold on to their humanity . . . Beautifully written and told with great compassion, Alan Lightman's novel gives readers a family that is rich in stories, history, and heart, proving in the end that love shines even in the midst of great darkness." --Loung Ung, author ofFirst They Killed My Father

Night School

AKirkus Reviews Best Book in Translation of 2019 Zsófia Ban'sNight School: A Reader for Adults uses a textbook format to build an encyclopedia of life--subject by subject, from self-help to geography to chemistry to French. With subtle irony, Ban's collection of "lectures" guides readers through the importance and uses of the power ofNohoo (or "know-how"), tells of the travels of young Flaubert to Egypt with his friend Maxime, and includes a missive from Laika the dog minutes before being blasted off into space, never to be seen again. A wildly clever book that makes our all-too-familiar world appear simultaneously foreign and untamed, and brings together lust, taboos, and the absurd in order to teach us the art of living.

Together Apart: The Psychology of COVID-19

Written by leading social psychologists with expertise in leadership, health and emergency behaviour - who have also played an important role in advising governments on COVID-19 - this book provides a broad but integrated analysis of the psychology of COVID-19 It explores the response to COVID-19 through the lens of social identity theory, drawing from insights provided by four decades of research. Starting from the premise that an effective response to the pandemic depends upon people coming together and supporting each other as members of a common community, the book helps us to understand emerging processes related to social (dis)connectedness, collective behaviour and the societal effects of COVID-19. In this it shows how psychological theory can help us better understand, and respond to, the events shaping the world in 2020.  Considering key topics such as: Leadership Communication Risk perception Social isolation Mental health Inequality Misinformation Prejudice and racism Behaviour change Social Disorder This book offers the foundation on which future analysis, intervention and policy can be built. We are proud to support the research into Covid-19 and are delighted to offer the finalised eBook for free, available from all major ebook retailers, including Amazon, Kobo, Ebooks.com and Google.  For those who prefer print, it is possible to purchase a paperback version.All Royalties from this book will be donated to the Save the Children charity.  

If I Go Missing

Call Number: GN PN6733.J66 I35 2019

Combining graphic fiction and non-fiction, this young adult graphic novel serves as a window into one of the unique dangers of being an Indigenous teen in Canada today. The text of the book is derived from excerpts of a letter written to the Winnipeg Chief of Police by fourteen-year-old Brianna Jonnie -- a letter that went viral and was also the basis of a documentary film. In her letter, Jonnie calls out the authorities for neglecting to immediately investigate missing Indigenous people and urges them to "not treat me as the Indigenous person I am proud to be," if she were to be reported missing. Indigenous artist Neal Shannacappo provides the artwork for the book. Through his illustrations he imagines a situation in which a young Indigenous woman does disappear, portraying the reaction of her community, her friends, the police and media. An author's note at the end of the book provides context for young readers about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls in Canada.

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access

Can't find what you need?