Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Items: March

New books to our library, be the first to check them out!

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

March New eBooks

Blockchain

This book in the Library Futures Series examines blockchain technology, a concept with far-reaching implications for the future of the information professions. Blockchain uses a distributed database (multiple devices not connected to a common processor) that organizes data into records (blocks) that have cryptographic validation. The data are timestamped and linked to previous records so that they can only be changed by those who own the encryption keys to write to the files...

March New Program Related Books

Tree Climbers' Guide, 3rd Edition

Call Number: SB 435. L54 2005

The Tree Climbers’ Guide was written specifically from the tree climbers’ perspective to learn safe climbing and aerial tree work principles. It is a basic text for tree climbers as well as a study guide for the ISA Certified Tree Worker Climber Specialist® and Aerial Lift Specialist® exams. Each chapter includes a list of key terms and concludes with a workbook section.

The Art of Making Fermented Sausages

Call Number: TS1974.S3 M37 2009

The art and secrets of making fermented sausages is finally revealed. With more information obtainable every day, and commercial starter cultures available to the public, there is little reason to abstain from making quality salamis at home, regardless of the climate and outside conditions.

Sustainable project management : the GPM reference guide, 2nd edition.

Call Number: HD69 P75 C37 2018

"Over the past decade the definition of "sustainable" has evolved and as a result, many organizations have had to re-evaluate their business to incorporate practices that are socially responsible and environmentally friendly. It is, therefore, necessary to align the management of projects, to better support the new business landscape and blue economy. It goes without saying that evolving the project management profession has never been more important" -- Back cover.

March New Interesting Reads

Time Is the Thing a Body Moves Through

How do the bodies we inhabit affect our relationship with art? How does art affect our relationship to our bodies? T Fleischmann uses Felix Gonzáles-Torres's artworks--piles of candy, stacks of paper, puzzles--as a path through questions of love and loss, violence and rejuvenation, gender and sexuality. From the back porches of Buffalo, to the galleries of New York and L.A., to farmhouses of rural Tennessee, the artworks act as still points, sites for reflection situated in lived experience. Fleischmann combines serious engagement with warmth and clarity of prose, reveling in the experiences and pleasures of art and the body, identity and community.

How Many Light Bulbs Does It Take to Change the World?

Almost every schoolchild learns that Thomas Edison invented the light bulb. But did he? And if he hadn't invented it, would we be still living in the dark? Acclaimed author Matt Ridley (The Rational Optimist, The Evolution of Everything) explains that at least 20 other people can lay claim to this breakthrough moment. Ridley argues that the light bulb emerged from the combined technologies and accumulated knowledge of the day - it was bound to emerge sooner or later. Based on his 2018 Hayek Memorial Lecture, Ridley contends that innovation - from invention through to development and commercialisation - is the most important unsolved problem in all of human society. We rely on it - but we do not fully understand it, we cannot predict it and we cannot direct it. In How Many Light Bulbs Does It Take to Change the World? Ridley examines the nature of innovation - and how people often fear its consequences. He dispels the myth that automation destroys jobs - and demonstrates how innovation leads to economic growth. And he argues that intellectual property rights, originally intended to encourage innovation, are now being used by big business to defend their monopolies. Ridley concludes that innovation is a mysterious and under-appreciated process that we discuss too rarely, hamper too much and value too little.

Five Feet Apart

Call  Number: LIPP

Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson! Goodreads Choice Winner, Best Young Adult Fiction of 2019 In this #1 New York Times bestselling novel that's perfect for fans of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication--they can't get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives. Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant likes to be in control--even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions. The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn't care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he'll turn eighteen and then he'll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals. Will's exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment. What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access

Can't find what you need?