Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Items: Latest Titles

New books to our library, be the first to check them out!

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

Featured eBooks

The Science Beneath Organic Production

A groundbreaking book that addresses the science that underpins organic agriculture and horticulture and its impact upon the management of organic systems With contributions from noted experts in the field, Organic Agriculture explores the cultural context of food production and examines the historical aspects, economic implications, and key scientific elements that underpin organic crop production. The book shows how a science-based approach to organic farming is grounded in history and elements of the social sciences as well as the more traditional areas of physics, chemistry and biology.  Organic Agriculture offers a detailed explanation of the differences between organic systems and other approaches, answering questions about crop production and protection, crop rotations, soil health, biodiversity and the use of genetic resources. The authors identify current gaps in our understanding of the topic and discuss how organic farming research may be better accomplished in the future. This important book: Explores the science that underpins organic farming Contains illustrative case studies from around the world Examines organic agriculture's philosophical roots and its socio-economic context Written for scientists and students of agriculture and horticulture, this book covers the issues linked to the use of science by organic producers and identifies key elements in the production of food. 

Energy in Agroecosystem

Energy in Agroecosystem takes into account the presence of energy in the agroecosystem along with its utilization. It consists of models of hybrid decomposition-reconfiguration, concept and designing of an energy system and an optimization method for local consumption of photovoltaic power. It provides the reader with basic insights of the energy in agroecosystem and its efficient use so as to understand the concept and designing of energy system completely based on the renewable...

The Swiss Army Knife for Leaders

In The Swiss Army Knife for Leaders you are inspired and challenged to follow your own path in leadership development and take others with you on this journey. To work on leadership with a positive impact on yourself and your environment. The title of this book refers to the pocket knife of Gabriel Anthonio's grandfather; teacher, and a great coach for old and young...

Pathways to Success

Used as a companion guide to Mainstreaming Corporate Sustainability, this case book provides specific examples of companies who have incorporated successful techniques to promote sustainability within their organization. Combined with the textbook, it provides a full curriculum for any introductory course on corporate sustainability...

Rational Decisions and Strategic Conflicts

"This book is refreshing, innovative and important for several reasons. Perhaps most importantly, it attempts to reconcile game theory with one-person decision theory by viewing a game as a collection of one-person decision problems. As natural as this approach may seem, it is hard to find game theory books that really implement this view. This book is a wonderful exception, in which the transition between decision theory and game theory is both smooth and natural...

Climate Change and Water Resources

Climate change and water resources examines various aspects ofclimate change including an extensive historical overview of climatechange and water resources and related issues. It includesimpacts of climate changes and water resources scarcity, waterresources management, climate change and rainfall variability.Provides the reader with insights into the development of its history,so as to understand the multilateral environmental agreement(mea) on climate change and water resources, comprehensiveinformation on international, regional, and national legal framework on climatechange and water resources.

Financial Accounting: The Basics

Understanding the basics of financial accounting can be a tricky task to master. This practical guidebook provides an overview of the fundamental principles in a jargon-free and simple format. Financial Accounting: The Basics provides concise overviews of the key financial accounting topics supplemented by practical examples and exercises to enable readers to test their knowledge and understanding in bitesize chunks. In empowering students to learn at their own pace, the book enhances course learning to maximise chances of overall success. Topics covered include: The interpretation of financial statements and the accounting equation Processing accounting information Accounting for inventories Non-current assets and depreciation Cash flow statements and analysis With the latest coverage of  IFRS terminology, and separate chapters on cashflow statements and ratio analysis, Ilias Basioudis' text will be valuable reading for new students of accounting.   IFRS terminology, and separate chapters on cashflow statements and ratio analysis, Ilias Basioudis' text will be valuable reading for new students of accounting.

Canine Parasites and Parasitic Diseases

Canine Parasites and Parasitic Diseases offers a concise summary, including the distribution, epidemiology, lifecycle, morphology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, prophylaxis and therapeutic measures on the most important parasites affecting dogs. The book includes their classification, structure, lifecycles, occurrence, and the diagnosis and treatment of infestations. Chapters are presented in a consistent and logical format with extensive use of tables, photographs and line drawings that help veterinarians and students quickly find answers to questions. The book informs on 100 different species of parasite related to the canine world and is is aimed not only at veterinary practitioners but also in dog enthusiasts, pharmacies and laboratories.

Bad Judgment

This revised and updated edition looks at the future of the Canadian legal and political systems as they relate to this country's indigenous communities. During John Reilly's more than 30-year career with the Provincial Court of Alberta he became interested in how the Canadian judicial system dealt with Indigenous societies. He saw the failure of the "white" legal system to do justice for First Nation peoples, the harm caused to them by Canadian colonialism, and the failure of all levels of government, including tribal leadership, to alleviate their suffering and deal with the conflicting natures of European-style law and Indigenous tradition and circumstance. As a result, Judge Reilly vowed to improve the delivery of justice to the Indigenous people in his community, and he used his perceived power as a jurist to positively influence their lives. Along the way he came into direct conflict with Canadian judicial administration and various questionable leaders among the echelons of both Canadian and First Nation governments. With the latest news and updates related to the ongoing struggle, Bad Judgment tells the story of this conflict and the impact it had upon Reilly's opinion of his country, his chosen profession and the future of Indigenous justice in Canada.

Advanced Applications in Remote Sensing of Agricultural Crops and Natural Vegetation

Written by leading global experts, including pioneers in the field, the four-volume set on Hyperspectral Remote Sensing of Vegetation, Second Edition, reviews existing state-of-the-art knowledge, highlights advances made in different areas, and provides guidance for the appropriate use of hyperspectral data in the study and management of agricultural crops and natural vegetation. Volume IV, Advanced Applications in Remote Sensing of Agricultural Crops and Natural Vegetationdiscusses the use of hyperspectral or imaging spectroscopy data in numerous specific and advanced applications, such as forest management, precision farming, managing invasive species, and local to global land cover change detection. It emphasizes the importance of hyperspectral remote sensing tools for studying vegetation processes and functions as well as the appropriate use of hyperspectral data for vegetation management practices. The concluding chapter provides readers with useful guidance on the highlights and essence of Volume IV through the editors' perspective. Key Features of Volume IV: Guides readers to harness the capabilities of the most recent advances in applying hyperspectral remote sensing technology to the study of terrestrial vegetation. Includes specific applications on agriculture, crop management practices, study of crop stress and diseases, crop characteristics based on inputs (e.g., nitrogen, irrigation), study of vegetation impacted by heavy metals, gross and net primary productivity studies, light use efficiency studies, crop water use and actual evapotranspiration studies, phenology monitoring, land use and land cover studies, global change studies, plant species detection, wetland and forest characterization and mapping, crop productivity and crop water productivity mapping, and modeling. Encompasses hyperspectral or imaging spectroscopy data in narrow wavebands used across visible, red-edge, near-infrared, far-infrared, shortwave infrared, and thermal portions of the spectrum. Explains the implementation of hyperspectral remote sensing data processing mechanisms in a standard, fast, and efficient manner for their applications. Discusses cloud computing to overcome hyperspectral remote sensing massive big data challenges. Provides hyperspectral analysis of rocky surfaces on the earth and other planetary systems.

Featured Program Related Books

Economical Writing

Call Number: PE 1479 E35 M33 2019

Economics is not a field that is known for good writing. Charts, yes. Sparkling prose, no.   Except, that is, when it comes to Deirdre Nansen McCloskey. Her conversational and witty yet always clear style is a hallmark of her classic works of economic history, enlivening the dismal science and engaging readers well beyond the discipline. And now she's here to share the secrets of how it's done.   Economical Writing is itself economical: a collection of thirty-five pithy rules for making your writing clear, concise, and effective. Proceeding from big-picture ideas to concrete strategies for improvement at the level of the paragraph, sentence, or word, McCloskey shows us that good writing, after all, is not just a matter of taste--it's a product of adept intuition and a rigorous revision process. Debunking stale rules, warning us that "footnotes are nests for pedants," and offering an arsenal of readily applicable tools and methods, she shows writers of all levels of experience how to rethink the way they approach their work, and gives them the knowledge to turn mediocre prose into magic.   At once efficient and digestible, hilarious and provocative, Economical Writing lives up to its promise. With McCloskey as our guide, it's impossible not to see how any piece of writing--on economics or any other subject--can be a pleasure to read.

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide)

Call Number: HD 69 P75 G845 2013

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) --Fifth Edition reflects the collaboration and knowledge of working project managers and provides the fundamentals of project management as they apply to a wide range of projects. This internationally recognized standard gives project managers the essential tools to practice project management and deliver organizational results. * A 10th Knowledge Area has been added; Project Stakeholder Management expands upon the importance of appropriately engaging project stakeholders in key decisions and activities. * Project data information and information flow have been redefined to bring greater consistency and be more aligned with the Data, Information, Knowledge and Wisdom (DIKW) model used in the field of Knowledge Management. * Four new planning processes have been added: Plan Scope Management, Plan Schedule Management, Plan Cost Management and Plan Stakeholder Management: These were created to reinforce the concept that each of the subsidiary plans are integrated through the overall project management plan.

Introduction to Floriculture

Call Number: SB 404.9 H37 2019

Floriculture is a branch of horticulture that is concerned with the cultivation of flowering and ornamental plants. Crops of interest in floriculture include bedding plants, houseplants, flowering garden plants, pot plants, etc. Flowering plants are mostly sold in pots for decoration in homes. Some of the common breeds of flowering plants are poinsettias, orchids, chrysanthemums, azaleas, etc. Cut flowers are sold as bouquets. Farming of flowers and foliage employs special techniques of floriculture, such as spacing, training and pruning for optimal flower harvest, as well as chemical treatments for storage, preservation and packaging after harvest. This book unfolds the innovative aspects of floriculture, which will be crucial for the holistic understanding of the subject matter. The topics included in this textbook are of the utmost significance and bound to provide incredible insights to readers. Coherent flow of topics, student-friendly language and extensive use of examples make this book an invaluable source of knowledge.

The Procrastination Economy

Call Number: GV181.3 .T87 2018

2018 Outstanding Academic Title, given by Choice Magazine How mobile devices make our in-between moments valuable to media companies while also providing a sense of control and connection In moments of downtime - waiting for a friend to arrive or commuting to work - we pull out our phones for a few minutes of distraction. Just as television reoriented the way we think about living rooms, mobile devices have taken over the interstitial spaces of our everyday lives. Ethan Tussey argues that these in-between moments have created a procrastination economy, an opportunity for entertainment companies to create products, apps, platforms, subscription services, micropayments, and interactive opportunities that can colonize our everyday lives. But as businesses commoditize our free time, and mobile devices become essential tools for promotion, branding and distribution, consumers are using these devices as a means of navigating public and private space. These devices are not just changing the way we spend and value our time, but also how we interact with others and transform our sense of the politics of space. By examining the four main locations of the procrastination economy--the workplace, the commute, the waiting room, and the "connected" living room--Ethan Tussey illuminates the relationship between the entertainment industry and the digitally empowered public.

No Logo

Call Number: HD2755.5 .K57 2002

With a new Afterword to the 2002 edition, "No Logo "employs journalistic savvy and personal testament to detail the insidious practices and far-reaching effects of corporate marketing--and the powerful potential of a growing activist sect that will surely alter the course of the 21st century. First published before the World Trade Organization protests in Seattle, this is an infuriating, inspiring, and altogether pioneering work of cultural criticism that investigates money, marketing, and the anti-corporate movement. As global corporations compete for the hearts and wallets of consumers who not only buy their products but willingly advertise them from head to toe--witness today's schoolbooks, superstores, sporting arenas, and brand-name synergy--a new generation has begun to battle consumerism with its own best weapons. In this provocative, well-written study, a front-line report on that battle, we learn how the Nike swoosh has changed from an athletic status-symbol to a metaphor for sweatshop labor, how teenaged McDonald's workers are risking their jobs to join the Teamsters, and how "culture jammers" utilize spray paint, computer-hacking acumen, and anti-propagandist wordplay to undercut the slogans and meanings of billboard ads (as in "Joe Chemo" for "Joe Camel"). "No Logo "will challenge and enlighten students of sociology, economics, popular culture, international affairs, and marketing. "This book is not another account of the power of the select group of corporate Goliaths that have gathered to form our de facto global government. Rather, it is an attempt to analyze and document the forces opposing corporate rule, and to lay out the particular set of cultural and economic conditions that made the emergence of that opposition inevitable."--Naomi Klein, from her Introduction

GPS for Dummies

Call Number: G 109.5 M3654 2008

Need directions? Are you good at getting lost? Then GPS is just the technology you've dreamed of, and GPS For Dummies is what you need to help you make the most of it. If you have a GPS unit or plan to buy one, GPS For Dummies,2nd Edition helps you compare GPS technologies,units, and uses. You?ll find out how to create and usedigital maps and learn about waypoints, tracks, coordinate systems,and other key point to using GPS technology. Get more from your GPS device by learning to use Web-hostedmapping services and even how to turn your cell phone or PDA into aGPS receiver. You?ll also discover: Up-to-date information on the capabilities of popular handheldand automotive Global Positioning Systems How to read a map and how to get more from the free mapsavailable online The capabilities and limitations of GPS technology, and howsatellites and radio systems make GPS work How to interface your GPS receiver with your computer and whatdigital mapping software can offer Why a cell phone with GPS capability isn?t the same as aGPS unit What can affect your GPS reading and how accurate it willbe How to use Street Atlas USA, TopoFusion, Google Earth, andother tools Fun things to do with GPS, such as exploring topographicalmaps, aerial imagery, and the sport of geocaching Most GPS receivers do much more than their owners realize. WithGPS For Dummies, 2nd Edition in hand,you?ll venture forth with confidence!

Appified

Call Number: HM 851 A675 2018

Snapchat. WhatsApp. Ashley Madison. Fitbit. Tinder. Periscope. How do we make sense of how apps like these-and thousands of others-have embedded themselves into our daily routines, permeating the background of ordinary life and standing at-the-ready to be used on our smartphones and tablets? When we look at any single app, it's hard to imagine how such a small piece of software could be particularly notable. But if we look at a collection of them, we see a bigger picture that reveals how the quotidian activities apps encompass are far from banal: connecting with friends (and strangers and enemies), sharing memories (and personally identifying information), making art (and trash), navigating spaces (and reshaping places in the process). While the sheer number of apps is overwhelming, as are the range of activities they address, each one offers an opportunity for us to seek out meaning in the mundane. Appified is the first scholarly volume to examine individual apps within the wider historical and cultural context of media and cultural studies scholarship, attuned to issues of politics and power, identity and the everyday.

Comparative Advertising

Call Number: HF 5827.2 B43 2018

From auto insurance to ready-to-eat soups and satellite TV services, both national and local advertisers in the United States--and increasingly around the world--invest a great deal of time and money on ads and campaigns in which they directly identify their competitors or refer indirectly to "the other guys." Yet business decision-makers and advertising creative professionals have long believed that creating successful comparative advertising can be extraordinarily difficult. Many have discovered that a strategic or tactical misstep can easily lead to a disaster, such as negative responses from consumers, a successful legal challenge from one or more competitors, or the escalation of hostilities into an ongoing and damaging comparative advertising war. Comparative Advertising: History, Theory, and Practice offers scholars interested in why many business decision-makers believe they can win our loyalty by running down a competitor--as well as anyone who plans, creates, or pays for advertising--a thorough and timely synthesis of the vast body of historical research, theory, and professional insights devoted to one of advertising's most frequently debated message tactics. The overall goal of this book is to discover answers to a simple question: Why do so many advertisers often rely on a message tactic that research and professional experience confirms they frequently regret using?

Knock 'em Dead Job Interview

Call Number: HF 5549.5 I6 Y373 2013

To amaze and impress job interviewers, you need the formulas for answering tough questions. With these handy flash cards, career wizard Martin Yate shows you how to display those essential transferable skills, behaviours, and values that "every" employer wants. When you've mastered these cards you'll not only get the job; you'll be on the road to long-term career success. 

Six Pillars of Self-Esteem

Call Number: BF 697.5 S46 B7 1994

In this penetrating and provocative book, Dr Nathaniel Branden demonstrates the importance of self-esteem in our quest for psychological health, personal achievment, and positive relationships.Six action-based practices for daily living, simple but powerful exercises for increasing personal awareness and effectiveness. It explores the importance of self-esteem in the workplace, parenting, education, psychotherapy and society.Immense in scope and vision, filled with brilliant insights into human nature, this is the ultimate work on the psychology of self-esteem.

Slow Media

Call Number: HM 1206 R376 2018

Today we recognize that we have a different relationship to media technology - and to information more broadly - than we had even five years ago. We are connected to the news media, to our jobs, and to each other, 24 hours a day. But many people have found their mediated lives to be too fast,too digital, too disposable, and too distracted. This group - which includes many technologists and young people - believes that current practices of digital media production and consumption are unsustainable, and works to promote alternate ways of living.Until recently, sustainable media practices have been mostly overlooked, or thought of as a counterculture. But, as Jennifer Rauch argues in this book, the concept of sustainable media has taken hold and continues to gain momentum. Slow media is not merely a lifestyle choice, she argues, but haspotentially great implications for our communities and for the natural world....

Featured Interesting Reads

Washington Black

Call Number: FIC EDU OHS

Washington Black is an eleven-year-old field slave who knows no other life than the Barbados sugar plantation where he was born. When his master's eccentric brother chooses him to be his manservant, Wash is terrified of the cruelties he is certain await him. But Christopher Wilde, or "Titch," is a naturalist, explorer, scientist, inventor, and abolitionist. He initiates Wash into a world where a flying machine can carry a man across the sky; where two people, separated by an impossible divide, might begin to see each other as human; and where a boy born in chains can embrace a life of dignity and meaning. But when a man is killed and a bounty is placed on Wash's head, Titch abandons everything to save him. What follows is their flight along the eastern coast of America, and, finally, to a remote outpost in the Arctic, where Wash, left on his own, must invent another new life.

The Summer of Dead Birds

Call Number: eBook

"An often-sweet, often-startling autobiographical novel-in-verse about going through a divorce and the death of a loved one--meditating on life's big and small losses, and the ways the universe at once reminds us of and assuages those losses." --O, The Oprah Magazine "A fierce, funny, agonized, cracked-open aria in homage to the presence and passing of fiercely loved things." --Maggie Nelson, author of The Argonauts how does a person dislodge the scenes that burn inside them like arsoned cars? Ali Liebegott is reeling from a fresh, painful divorce. She wallows in grief and overassigns meaning to everyday circumstance, clinging to an aging Dalmatian and obsessing over dead birds. Going through the motions of teaching and walking her dog, she eventually decides to hit the road: Ali and Rorschach at the Center of the World. This autobiographical novel-in-verse is a chronicle of mourning and survival, documenting depression and picking apart failed intimacy. But Ali Liebegott's poetry is laced with compassion, for herself and the reader and the world, as she learns to balance the sting of death with the tender strangeness of life. 

The Rest of the Story

Call Number: DES OHS

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah Dessen comes a big-hearted, sweeping novel about a girl who reconnects with a part of her family she hasn't seen since she was a little girl--and falls in love, all over the course of a magical summer. Emma Saylor doesn't remember a lot about her mother, who died when Emma was twelve. But she does remember the stories her mom told her about the big lake that went on forever, with cold, clear water and mossy trees at the edges. Now it's just Emma and her dad, and life is good, if a little predictable...until Emma is unexpectedly sent to spend the summer with her mother's family that she hasn't seen since she was a little girl. When Emma arrives at North Lake, she realizes there are actually two very different communities there. Her mother grew up in working class North Lake, while her dad spent summers in the wealthier Lake North resort. The more time Emma spends there, the more it starts to feel like she is also divided into two people. To her father, she is Emma. But to her new family, she is Saylor, the name her mother always called her. Then there's Roo, the boy who was her very best friend when she was little. Roo holds the key to her family's history, and slowly, he helps her put the pieces together about her past. It's hard not to get caught up in the magic of North Lake--and Saylor finds herself falling under Roo's spell as well. For Saylor, it's like a whole new world is opening up to her. But when it's time to go back home, which side of her--Emma or Saylor--will win out?

The Hive

Call Number: FIC LYG OHS

Even hackers --- like Cassie's dad --- were powerless against it. But then the Hive came. A better way to sanction people for what they do online. Cause trouble, get too many "condemns," and a crowd can come after you, teach you a lesson in real life. It's safer, fairer and perfectly legal. Entering her senior year of high school, filled with grief over an unexpected loss, Cassie is primed to lash out. Egged on by new friends, she makes an edgy joke online. Cassie doubts anyone will notice. But the Hive notices everything. And as her viral comment whips an entire country into a frenzy, the Hive demands retribution. One moment Cassie is anonymous; the next, she's infamous. And running for her life. With nowhere to turn, she must learn to rely on herself --- and a group of Hive outcasts who may not be reliable --- as she slowly uncovers the truth about the machine behind the Hive. New York Times bestselling authors Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden have teamed up for the first time to create a novel that's gripping, terrifying and more relevant every day.

A World of Disorderly Notions

Call Number: eBook

Shortlisted for the Kenshur Prize for Best Book in Eighteenth-Century Studies from the Indiana University Center for Eighteenth-Century Studies From Jonathan Swift to Washington Irving, those looking to propose and justify exceptions to social and political norms turned to Cervantes's notoriously mad comic hero as a model. A World of Disorderly Notions examines the literary and political effects of Don Quixote, arguing that what makes this iconic character so influential across oceans and cultures is not his madness but his logic. Aaron Hanlon contends that the logic of quixotism is in fact exceptionalism--the strategy of rendering oneself an exception to everyone else's rules. As British and American societies of the Enlightenment developed the need to question the acceptance of various forms of imperialism and social contract theory--and to explain both the virtues and limitations of revolutions past and ongoing--it was Quixote's exceptionalism, not his madness, that captured the imaginations of so many writers and statesmen. As a consequence, the eighteenth century witnessed an explosion of imitations of Quixote in fiction and polemical writing, by writers such as Jonathan Swift, Charlotte Lennox, Henry Fielding, and Washington Irving, among others. Combining literary history and political theory, Hanlon clarifies an ongoing and immediately relevant history of exceptionalism, of how states from Golden Age Spain to imperial Britain to the formative United States rendered themselves exceptions so they could act with impunity. In so doing, he tells the story of how Quixote became exceptional.

Bunny

Call Number: FIC AWA OHS

We were just these innocent girls in the night trying to make something beautiful. We nearly died. We very nearly did, didn't we?" Samantha Heather Mackey couldn't be more of an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at New England's Warren University. A scholarship student who prefers the company of her dark imagination to that of most people, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort--a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other "Bunny," and seem to move and speak as one. But everything changes when Samantha receives an invitation to the Bunnies' fabled "Smut Salon," and finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door--ditching her only friend, Ava, in the process. As Samantha plunges deeper and deeper into the Bunnies' sinister yet saccharine world, beginning to take part in the ritualistic off-campus "Workshop" where they conjure their monstrous creations, the edges of reality begin to blur. Soon, her friendships with Ava and the Bunnies will be brought into deadly collision.  The spellbinding new novel from one of our most fearless chroniclers of the female experience, Bunny is a down-the-rabbit-hole tale of loneliness and belonging, friendship and desire, and the fantastic and terrible power of the imagination. Named a Best Book of 2019 by TIME, Vogue, Electric Literature, and The New York Public Library

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

Call Number: FIC TAY OHS

In her tenth book, Mildred Taylor completes her sweeping saga about the Logan family of Mississippi, which is also the story of the civil rights movement in America of the 20th century. Cassie Logan, first met inSong of the TreesandRoll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, is a young woman now, searching for her place in the world, a journey that takes her from Toledo to California, to law school in Boston, and, ultimately, in the 60s, home to Mississippi for voter registration. She is witness to the now-historic events of the century- the Great Migration north, the rise of the movement, preceded and precipitated by the racist society of America, and the often violent confrontations that brought about change. Rich, compelling storytelling is Ms. Taylor's hallmark, and she fulfills expectations as she brings to a close the stirring family story that has absorbed her for over forty years. It is a story she was born to tell.

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel)

Call Number: FIC COL OHS

Untitled Panem Novel will revisit the world of Panem sixty-four years before the events of The Hunger Games, starting on the morning of the reaping of the Tenth Hunger Games.

Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

Call Number: FIC GIB OHS

The world's youngest and smartest genius who's forced to use her unbelievable code-breaking skills to outsmart Einstein. Charlie Thorne is a genius. Charlie Thorne is a thief. Charlie Thorne isn't old enough to drive. And now it's up to her to save the world... Decades ago, Albert Einstein devised an equation that could benefit all life on earth--or destroy it. Fearing what would happen if the equation fell into the wrong hands, he hid it. But now, a diabolical group known as the Furies are closing in on its location. In desperation, a team of CIA agents drags Charlie into the hunt, needing her brilliance to find it first--even though this means placing her life in grave danger. In a breakneck adventure that spans the globe, Charlie must crack a complex code created by Einstein himself, struggle to survive in a world where no one can be trusted, and fight to keep the last equation safe once and for all.

American Dirt

Call Number: FIC CUM OHS

Lydia Quixano Perez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable. Even though she knows they'll never sell, Lydia stocks some of her all-time favorite books in her store. And then one day a man enters the shop to browse and comes up to the register with four books he would like to buy-two of them her favorites. Javier is erudite. He is charming. And, unbeknownst to Lydia, he is the jefe of the newest drug cartel that has gruesomely taken over the city....

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access