Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Library Items: September

New books to our library, be the first to check them out!

New Program Related Books

GPS for Dummies

Call Number: G 109.5 M365 2008

Need directions? Are you good at getting lost? Then GPS is just thetechnology you?ve dreamed of, and GPS For Dummies iswhat you need to help you make the most of it. If you have a GPS unit or plan to buy one, GPS For Dummies,2nd Edition helps you compare GPS technologies,units, and uses. You?ll find out how to create and usedigital maps and learn about waypoints, tracks, coordinate systems,and other key point to using GPS technology. Get more from your GPS device by learning to use Web-hostedmapping services and even how to turn your cell phone or PDA into aGPS receiver. You?ll also discover: Up-to-date information on the capabilities of popular handheldand automotive Global Positioning Systems How to read a map and how to get more from the free mapsavailable online The capabilities and limitations of GPS technology, and howsatellites and radio systems make GPS work How to interface your GPS receiver with your computer and whatdigital mapping software can offer Why a cell phone with GPS capability isn?t the same as aGPS unit What can affect your GPS reading and how accurate it willbe How to use Street Atlas USA, TopoFusion, Google Earth, andother tools Fun things to do with GPS, such as exploring topographicalmaps, aerial imagery, and the sport of geocaching Most GPS receivers do much more than their owners realize. WithGPS For Dummies, 2nd Edition in hand,you?ll venture forth with confidence!

Appified

Call Number: HM 851 A675 2018

Snapchat. WhatsApp. Ashley Madison. Fitbit. Tinder. Periscope. How do we make sense of how apps like these-and thousands of others-have embedded themselves into our daily routines, permeating the background of ordinary life and standing at-the-ready to be used on our smartphones and tablets? When we look at any single app, it's hard to imagine how such a small piece of software could be particularly notable. But if we look at a collection of them, we see a bigger picture that reveals how the quotidian activities apps encompass are far from banal: connecting with friends (and strangers and enemies), sharing memories (and personally identifying information), making art (and trash), navigating spaces (and reshaping places in the process). While the sheer number of apps is overwhelming, as are the range of activities they address, each one offers an opportunity for us to seek out meaning in the mundane. Appified is the first scholarly volume to examine individual apps within the wider historical and cultural context of media and cultural studies scholarship, attuned to issues of politics and power, identity and the everyday.

New Interesting Reads

What I Carry

Call Number: LON

"A deeply touching story about survival, hope, and love." --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces For readers of Robin Benway's Far from the Tree, a powerful and heartwarming look at a teen girl about to age out of the foster care system. Growing up in foster care, Muir has lived in many houses. And if she's learned one thing, it is to Pack. Light. Carry only what fits in a suitcase. Toothbrush? Yes. Socks? Yes. Emotional attachment to friends? foster families? a boyfriend? Nope! There's no room for any additional baggage. Muir has just one year left before she ages out of the system. One year before she's free. One year to avoid anything--or anyone--that could get in her way. Then she meets Francine. And Kira. And Sean. And everything changes.

The Princess and the Fangirl

Call Number: POS

Imogen Lovelace is an ordinary fangirl on an impossible mission- to save her favorite Starfield character, Princess Amara, from being killed off. On the other hand, the actress who plays Amara wouldn't mind being axed. Jessica Stone doesn't even like being part of the Starfield franchise-and she's desperate to leave the intense scrutiny of fandom behind. Though Imogen and Jess have nothing in common, they do look strangely similar to one another-and a case of mistaken identity at ExcelsiCon sets off a chain of events that will change both of their lives. When the script for the Starfield sequel leaks, with all signs pointing to Jess, she and Imogen must trade places to find the person responsible. The deal- Imogen will play Jess at her signings and panels, and Jess will help Imogen's best friend run their booth. But as these "princesses" race to find the script leaker-in each other's shoes-they're up against more than they bargained for. From the darker side of fandom to unexpected crushes, Imogen and Jess must find a way to rescue themselves from their own expectations...and redefine what it means to live happily ever after.

Slay

Call Number: MOR

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019! "Gripping and timely." --People "The YA debut we're most excited for this year." --Entertainment Weekly "A book that knocks you off your feet while dropping the kind of knowledge that'll keep you down for the count. Prepare to BE slain." --Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out Ready Player One meets The Hate U Give in this dynamite debut novel that follows a fierce teen game developer as she battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for Black gamers. By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only Black kids at Jefferson Academy. But at home, she joins hundreds of thousands of Black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY. No one knows Kiera is the game developer, not her friends, her family, not even her boyfriend, Malcolm, who believes video games are partially responsible for the "downfall of the Black man." But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, news of the game reaches mainstream media, and SLAY is labeled a racist, exclusionist, violent hub for thugs and criminals. Even worse, an anonymous troll infiltrates the game, threatening to sue Kiera for "anti-white discrimination." Driven to save the only world in which she can be herself, Kiera must preserve her secret identity and harness what it means to be unapologetically Black in a world intimidated by Blackness. But can she protect her game without losing herself in the process?

House of Salt and Sorrows

Call Number: CRA

Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor with her sisters and their father and stepmother. Once there were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls' lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last--the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge--and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods. Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that her sister's deaths were no accidents. The girls have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn't sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who--or what--are they really dancing with? When Annaleigh's involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it's a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family--before it claims her next. House of Salt and Sorrows is a spellbinding novel filled with magic and the rustle of gossamer skirts down long, dark hallways. Get ready to be swept away. "An eerie, lovely Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling full of ghosts and gods and a fascinating waterfront world and I'm reading it from behind my fingers."--Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

Off Campus Access

College Student Access
High School Student Access
Staff Access

Can't find what you need?