Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation 7th Ed: Books & eBooks

An olds College guide to APA Citation Style, 7th Edition.

References Directory

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

Books & eBooks Standard Format

Book & Reference Works
Where
Who When What Publisher Info DOI or URL

Author, A. A. & Author Surname, B. B.

Name of Group

Editor, E. E. (Ed.)

Editor, F. F. (Eds.)

 

(year).

Title of book: Use sentence case. 

Title of book (# ed., Vol. #)

Title of book [Audiobook].

Title of book (E. E. Editor, Ed.).

Title of book (T. Translator, Trans.; N. Narrator, Narr.).

Publisher Name. 

First Publisher Name; Second Publisher Name. 

https://doi.org/xxxx....

https://xxxx...

Edited Book Chapters and Entries in Reference Works
Where
Who When What Edited Book Information DOI or URL

Author, A. A. & Author, B. B.

Name of Group

(year). Title of chapter.

In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (pp. #-#).  Publisher Name.

In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (# ed., Vol. #, pp. #-#).  Publisher Name.

https://doi.org/xxxx....

https://xxxx...

 

American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed).

https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

Books & eBooks Formatting Rules

  • Italicize book titles
  • Utilize sentence case for book titles:
    • The first word of the title and first word of the subtitle capitalized
    • Capitalize proper nouns
    • Every other word is lower case
  • Shorten long URLs or DOIs: When a DOI or URL is long or complex, you may use shortDOIs or shortened URLs if desired. Use the shortDOI service provided by the International DOI Foundation (http://shortdoi.org/) to create shortDOIs.
  • Reference works include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and diagnostic manuals.
  • eBooks do not include platform, format or device
  • Audiobooks include the narrator and audiobook notation.

Books & eBooks Examples

One author

Richardson, V. (1999). Teaching gerontological social work: A compendium of

model syllabi. Council on Social Work Education.

Multiple authors

    
Shonkoff, J., & Phillips, D. (2000). From neurons to neighborhoods: The

science of early childhood development. National Academy Press.

Organization/corporation as author

American Psychological Association.  (2020).  Publication manual of the

American Psychological Association (7th ed.).  https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

A chapter from an Edited Book

Rappaport, B. A. (1999). On-site school-based mental health clinics: 15 years

of experience in Orange County, California. In A.H. Esman, & L. T. Flaherty, (Eds.), Adolescent psychiatry: Development and clinical studies, (pp. 91-100). The Analytic Press.

Print Dictionary Merriam-Webster.  (2005). Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (11th ed.).
Online dictionary

Merriam-Webster.  (n.d.).  Merriam-Webster.com dictionary.  Retrieved March

3, 2020, from https://www.meriam-webster.com

Entry in dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia, with the individual author

Dictionary.com LLC (n.d.). Hyperboreal.  In Thesuaus.com.  Retrieved March

10, 2020, from https://www.thesaurus.com/browse/hyperboreal

Multiple volumes from a multi-volume work (use Vols. for multiple)

Wilson, C., Thomas, J., & Abadie, A. (2006). The new encyclopedia of

Southern culture (Vols. 1-24). University of North Carolina Press.

Single volume from a multi-volume work (Use Vol. for single)

Wilson, C., & Mohr, C. (2011). The new encyclopedia of Southern culture (Vol.

17: Education). The University of North Carolina Press.

Edition other than the first

Adams, M. (2013). Readings for diversity and social justice (3rd ed.).

Routledge Taylor & Francis Group.

Article in a reference book

Allen, A. L. (2004). Privacy in health care. In S. G. Post (Ed.), Encyclopedia of

bioethics (pp. 111-122). Macmillan-Thomson.

Translation of works

Piaget, J., & Inhelder, B. (1969).  The psychology of the child (H. Weaver,

Trans., 2nd ed.).  Basic Books.  (Original work published 1966)

Authored audiobook without a DOI, with nondatabase URL

Reid, K.  (2019).  Such a fun age (N. Lewis, Narr.) [Audiobook].  Penguin

Audio.  https://www.audiobooks.com/audiobook/such-a-fun-age/381177

Chapter in an edited e-book without page numbers

Bronk, K. C., & Baumsteiger, R. (2017).  The role of purpose among emerging

adults.  In L. M. Padilla-Walker & L. J. Nelson (Eds.) Flourishing in emerging adulthood: Positive development during the third decade of life.  Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190260637.003.0004

DSM-5 eBook version

American Psychiatric Association.  (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of

mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi-org.libproxy1.usc.edu/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596