Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation 7th Ed: Thesis/Dissertation

An olds College guide to APA Citation Style, 7th Edition.

References Directory

Search All Tool

Search all resource types 
(eg. article databases, books, ebooks, etc.)

Thesis/Dissertation Standard Format

Unpublished Dissertations and Theses
Who When What Where
Author, A. A. (year). Title of dissertation/thesis: Use sentence case [Unpublished doctoral dissertation/master’s thesis]. Name of Institution Awarding the Degree
Published Dissertations and Theses
Where
When When What Database or Archive Name URL
Author, A. A. (year).

Title of dissertation: Use sentence case [Doctoral dissertation, Name of Institution Awarding the Degree].

Title of thesis.  [Master’s thesis, Name of Institution Awarding the Degree].

Database Name. 

Archive Name.

https://xxxx...

American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed).

https://doi.org/10.1037/0000165-000

Thesis/Dissertation Formatting Rules

  • Italicize the title
  • Identify whether source is doctoral dissertation or master’s thesis in parentheses after the title

Thesis/Dissertation Examples

Thesis, from a commercial database

Lope, M. D. (2014). Perceptions of global mindedness in the international

baccalaureate middle years programme: The relationship to student academic performance and teacher characteristics (Order No. 3682837) [Doctoral disertation, University of Maryland]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global. 

Dissertation, from an institutional database

Andrea, H. (2014). Effective networked nonprofit organizations: Defining the behavior

and creating an instrument for measurement (Doctoral dissertation). https://etd.ohiolink.edu/

Unpublished master’s thesis

Curry, J.  (2016).  A guide to educating single mothers about early gang intervention and

prevention (Unpublished master’s thesis).  Pacific Oaks College.